Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Shell’s Seafood Pasta

Where my parents live is not a lot like Kuwait, but is alike in one wonderful way – Seafood! I grew up on the water. Shrimp and crab, oysters, clams – all were cheap and plentiful.

I would like to tell you that this is my original recipe, but it isn’t. It is served at a chain of restaurants in Florida called Shells. If you get a chance to go there, go! Everything is delicious, and the prices are reasonable. This is not your white tablecloth kind of restaurant; it is a down-home kind of place, full of families and children, and truly delicious food.

SHELLS SEAFOOD PASTA

Ingredients:

1 lb. Linguini, cooked and drained

1 oz. Butter

4 oz. Mussel meat

6 oz. Chopped clams

10 oz. Scallops, raw

12 oz. Peeled shrimp, raw

4 oz. Olive oil

4 oz. White wine

8 cloves Garlic, finely chopped

2 dashes Soy Sauce

16 oz. Heavy cream

Salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Cook linguini in salted water with butter until al dente; drain and set aside

2. Combine olive oil, white wine, garlic, soy sauce, and cream in a sauce pan and bring to a boil.

3. Add cooked linguini and drained seafood mix. Sautee, stirring gently, for about 10 minutes, until seafood is done and sauce has creamy consistency. Serve in warm serving dishes with shredded parmigiana reggiano. Garnish with chopped parsley, if desired.

(You don’t have to use scallops – use chunks of grouper (hammour) or whatever white fish is plentiful. Substitute a fish stock for the white wine.)

October 19, 2006 - Posted by | Cooking, Recipes, Uncategorized

22 Comments »

  1. Thanks for this recipe!! I have been trying to find this recipe to make at a 40th b-day dinner for my sister. I used to live in Tampa Fla and ate at the Shells there many times and loved this seafood pasta. I looked at many of the recipe websites for seafood pasta and could not find this so thanks again.!

    Comment by Lisa | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  2. Music to my ears, Lisa. I love this recipe, too, although making it here in Kuwait, I miss the taste of that 4 oz. of white wine. (she whines!)

    Comment by intlxpatr | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  3. you are my hero! I just moved away from Tampa and been having a serious craving for this stuff! I’m going to the store in themorning to get everything. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!

    Comment by Ryan | September 5, 2008 | Reply

  4. Oh Ryan, you just made my day. I love this pasta!

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 5, 2008 | Reply

  5. Thank you very much I have never tried this particular recipe but, I do love their baby lobster pasta. Can I use the same recipe and just use lobster. Thank for any help.

    Comment by Teresa | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  6. You are welcome, Teresa – this is still one of my all time favorites.

    Comment by intlxpatr | November 9, 2008 | Reply

  7. Can’t wait to try this! I was heartbroken when I found out Shell’s closed and now that I’m pregnant (and despite the fact expecting women shouldn’t eat shellfish) and now living in Oregon, I’m CRAVING this pasta dish. maybe I can trick… I mean, convince the Hubby to pick to the ingredients today :)

    Comment by izzyhearts | November 27, 2010 | Reply

  8. Hi, my name is Scott. Shell’s has to be the best seafood pasta I have ever had. It sucks to see that some of the locations have gone out of business.

    Sincerely, from Publix in Largo.. Scott Rothenberg.

    Comment by Scott Rothenberg | January 8, 2011 | Reply

  9. Scott, we used to live in Safety Harbor. Publix has some of the best seafood you can find in a grocery store. :-) I have heard that Shell’s has ceased operation – is that true? Or is it only some locations?

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 9, 2011 | Reply

  10. Only some locations. There is still one open in Tampa on Dale Mabry. There is also one in Holmes Beach. I know for sure the Clearwater Beach and Tyrone area locations have closed.

    Comment by Scott Rothenberg | January 9, 2011 | Reply

  11. Hilo Scottie, mate! We over heres like you!! Time to make a pizza! om nom nom!

    Comment by Adolf | January 9, 2011 | Reply

  12. I was so happy to find this recipe. I have made it several times and the last time I added Better Than Bouillon Lobster Base to the sauce….it was the missing link! Everyone raves over it.

    Comment by Lynne | May 22, 2011 | Reply

  13. Awesome recipe..It comes out just the one Shells did make. Sure miss them here in sunny Fla…I ate at so many of them that can name just a few of the places I enjoyed ttem so much.

    SW Miami, Tampa, Kissimmee, Winter Park, Indian Shores, Maitland, Aventura just to name those I can remember today.

    To make it even easier I buy a $3.99 bag (At Publix) of frozen seafood and really all I buy extra is a can of chopped clams and some frozen shrimp and bingo..In no time nostalgia and great food at the table.

    Thanks

    Comment by Jano B | November 14, 2011 | Reply

  14. It is easy and delicious, isn’t it? Still one of my favorite recipes . . .

    Comment by intlxpatr | November 14, 2011 | Reply

  15. Thank You, Thank You!! I’m so happy you posted this. I miss Shell’s too. Now I can get my fix again!

    Comment by Jeff | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  16. I am so thankful they would share this! It is my all time favorite seafood pasta; it’s still hard for me to believe there are no longer Shell’s I can pop into when I need my fix :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 1, 2013 | Reply

  17. Holmes beach is also closed. I believe tampa location ic the only one left

    Comment by Siren | April 14, 2013 | Reply

  18. Ahhh, Siren, that is too bad. I really loved their food. Thanks for letting us know.

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 14, 2013 | Reply

  19. A new Shell’s opened a few months ago not too far from the old location on 34th between Fowler and Busch. The original one on 34th turned into another seafood place, I believe. But when I drove past it the other day, it appear vacant. WTH?

    Comment by imtpa | May 31, 2013 | Reply

  20. Thanks for the info, imtpa, and when I get to the St. Pete/Tampa area I will look for it. My heart breaks for the brave people who open new restaurants these days. There is SO much competition, and people don’t spend as freely as they once did. Today, however, a pay day, by lunch time, the streets were crazy with traffic and the restaurants were full. Let’s hope this is a sign of good times rolling in :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | May 31, 2013 | Reply

  21. Does anyone happen to know the recipe for the Shell’s Baby Lobster Pasta? I see quite a few sites and posts for the seafood pasta and shrimp pasta, but I haven’t been able to find a recipe for the baby lobster pasta.

    Comment by Cat | June 19, 2013 | Reply

    • I am still trying to find that recipe too. Soooo Delish!!

      Comment by Chrissygirl | July 10, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers

