Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Two Months and Still Learning

This is another anniversary of sorts – around now I have been blogging for two months.

I’ve been reading the Kuwait blogs for more than a year. I knew I was moving here and I wanted to know what it is like. I could get lots of hard information on web sites, but I wanted to know the “feel” of the place, and once I started reading blogs, I was hooked.

Somewhere along the way, I was tempted beyond my ability to resist to comment – I think it was when 1001 Kuwaiti Nights then ZinZin, asked if anyone out there was reading her blog. . . and her blog remains one of my favorites to this day. Then Jewaira wrote a story about vampires, and I found myself making an analogy to those of us who float around watching, but not participating – it’s kind of like being un-dead. The last straw was when – I think it was Erzulie called those who read without commenting, without blogging “floaters”, which has a very disgusting connotation. . . and all those factors came together, and I figured that yes, it is a big risk, but I don’t want to be a “floater.”

Went with WordPress, and man, am I glad I did. There are some NASTY people out there! They would fill my comment section with totally disgusting stuff were it not for the Spam catcher!

It took me a while to figure out the mechanics, but it’s been fun, it’s been a growth experience, and it’s been therapeutic when going through some tough times. Only after I had been blogging for a month did I tell anyone I was blogging – the first one I told was my husband, then my son and then my niece. Slowly, slowly, I have been telling my friends. Pretty much they are all shocked, and then delighted. As you know, my niece Little Diamond also now has her own blog.

I have my own reasons for blogging – and one of them is to get down in writing some of what I experience. One thing I learn every day is that when change comes, it can come in a flash, and everything changes. You learn to survive. You learn to celebrate RIGHT NOW what can be celebrated, and you learn to celebrate the small things.

Having expressed those lofty ideals, at first I got hooked on statistics – was anyone reading? Here is what I learned – that the posts I spend the most time and energy on often get very little immediate response, but get good response over time – the trip reports, the book reviews, some of my cross-cultural stories. What gets HUGE readership on a one time basis is pure fluff – my all time high came when I published the e-mail forward about cell phone usage and cancer. Second was The Mermaid of Mangaf. Third was when someone ranted at me. Go figure! I’ve learned my lessons. I have about 100 faithful readers a day, and I am content with that. No! No! They are NOT all my relatives! :-)

In the meanwhile, I want to thank you for including me in the Kuwait blogging family. I read your posts; you brighten my days and you always give me new things to think about. Right now I am following The Ultimate with her translation of Killa Matgoog’s analysis of the current political scene in Kuwait. It’s information and analysis I don’t find so clearly written in the press. I’m enjoying blogging, and you are giving me wonderful help and feedback. Again, thanks for making me feel at home.

November 9, 2006 - Posted by | Blogging, ExPat Life

7 Comments »

  1. hi there :) glad u’re feeling at home.

    Comment by happygolucky | November 9, 2006 | Reply

  2. Happy – thanks for your warm welcome. I edited your comment because I don’t know that what you said is true. If you want to say something negative about another blogger, please use YOUR blog to say it! Thanks, dearie.

    Comment by intlxpatr | November 9, 2006 | Reply

  3. mabrouk ya khalti, and thank you for inspiring me. my blog is happily toddling along after your much cooler teenage blog, a bit unsteady at times and prone to uncontrolled drooling. thanks for letting the little one hang out with you :-)!

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | November 9, 2006 | Reply

  4. happy bloggoversary!

    i’m about as new as you are to this blogging thingy, but its definately been fun.

    and i do agree that fluff tends to draw in the comments.

    so far the best one for comments has been about me building something and scratching certain places.

    lol go figure :P

    Comment by skunk | November 9, 2006 | Reply

  5. Happy 2month anniversary sweetie!
    :*

    Comment by Delicately Realistic | November 9, 2006 | Reply

  6. dear intlxpatr, I’m glad you did edite my comment! cuz i don’t like to say what i said about anyone.. but how can i make the truth softer?! ask her when the chance comes & u’ll see for ur self. but that’s not the case here. the case is; not all that shines is gold. that’s all. regards.

    Comment by happygolucky | November 10, 2006 | Reply

  7. Little Diamond – You crack me up. You may be toddling, but I’m not anyone sitting at the cool table in the cafeteria with all the cool people! I’m still in the library, and in my own little world! :-) You’ll be the cool one, dear, I don’t mind. Your blog has substance and insight!

    SKUNK – Ahlen wa sahlen, dear, you are always welcome, ever since you told me you’re not Japanese anymore! You always have such great comments, and your blog totally cracks me up.

    Delicate – YOU are the sweetie, and always welcome.

    Happy – truth is in the eye of the beholder, indeed! And where did your blog go?

    Comment by intlxpatr | November 10, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 457 other followers

