Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Kitchen Souk?

A reader wrote asking about where to find a cast iron skillet in Kuwait. I brought mine with me (if you use a cast iron skillet, you’ll understand*) so I haven’t been paying any attention to cast iron skillet availability here. I’m pretty sure I haven’t seen any in the local co-ops, and I can’t remember seeing any cast iron pans in the Sultan Center. City Center?

Is there a Kitchen souk in Kuwait, a place with lots and lots of pots and pans?

(A cast iron skillet is heavy metal, and a shiny grey when you buy it. You season it by rubbing it with oil and putting it in an oven on low heat for hours, even overnight. You never wash the skillet with soap, only with water and scouring pads, so you don’t lose the seasoned coating. When you have a well-seasoned pan, you carry it with you so you don’t have to start the process over! You can see a photo of my skillet at Cornbread and Chili)

February 1, 2007 Posted by | Blogging, Cooking, Cross Cultural, ExPat Life, Living Conditions, Shopping, Tools, Uncategorized | 3 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers