Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Bad Laws Encourage Breaking the Law

Going to university in Seattle, I did a paper on Washington State “Blue Laws” and how they were repealed. In Washington State, they have some really cool ideas that encourage citizen participation – one is called the initiative, and the other is called the referendum.

What this means is that citizens, just common, ordinary citizens like you and me, can gather support and signatures, and initiate proceedings to get a proposal on the ballot, in front of all the voters. They can also refer an existing law to the voters to get it repealed (made not a law anymore.) It’s hard work – but citizens do it all the time.

I just used my internet phone to change my car reservation, because KLM has “delayed” my flight by one night. I broke the law. It’s a bad law, and I am not by nature a law-breaking kind of person.

I also break the law by bringing in real vanilla flavoring when I enter Kuwait. Yes, it contains alcohol. I only use it for cooking, and I never serve it to Moslems. I have alcohal-free vanilla, too, that I use for when I cook for Moslems, but it doesn’t taste the same.

I probably bring in books and DVD’s that I am not supposed to, although I have never seen a list telling me what books might not be allowed. Most of my books are about ideas, and yes, ideas can be a dangerous thing.

Bad laws force normal law-abiding people to break the law.

(This does not apply to speed limits, which are good laws, and if they were obeyed, would save hundreds of lives in Kuwait every year. Think of every life as something precious, a resource, and you will see that disobeying the speed limits is like throwing resources down the drain.)

I know this entry is really all over the map, but I have all this angry energy and I don’t have anywhere to expel it. If I could, I would kick KLM all over Kuwait for what they have done. They have robbed us of one day with our son and his wife and I am really really angry. They didn’t even tell us, just changed the reservation. One flight was “delayed” 24 hours, so all the passengers on the next flight were also “delayed”. That’s not a DELAY! You cancelled a flight! And now you are going to have hundreds of angry passengers, angry phone calls, and people PO’d at KLM. Shoddy way to do business.

March 29, 2007 - Posted by | Communication, Community, Cooking, Crime, Cross Cultural, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Holiday, KLM, Kuwait, Language, Lies, Living Conditions, Rants, Seattle, Shopping, Social Issues, Spiritual, Travel

5 Comments »

  1. Uh, I’m sorry about the KLM thing.
    They start to suck at these things :(

    And angry energy, yeah, I hear you on that one… :(

    Comment by Nicole | December 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. Holy Smokes, Nicole, this one happened way back in March! The did the same exact thing to me in July – cancelled my flight, put me on another airline’s flight but DID NOT CONFIRM WITH THAT AIRLINE and when my husband dropped me off, he had to come back and get me because there was no more room on the flight KLM told me I was on. When I flew out the next night, I didn’t get credit for the mileage (and it was a lot). KLM doesn’t seem to care much about whether their customers are happy, but they have some convenient routes for the flying I do.

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 12, 2007 | Reply

  3. Uh, this popped up in my reader this morning..weird :D
    Nope, I think most airlines don’t care no more. :(

    Comment by Nicole | December 12, 2007 | Reply

  4. How interesting! *she says in great puzzlement* Another post I wrote – like a couple months ago – is getting huge hits, and I can’t figure out why now? Sometimes there are just mysteries!

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 12, 2007 | Reply

  5. It actually popped up in the comments RSS, now that I think of it.
    Weird :)
    Mine being the first?!

    Comment by Nicole | December 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers

