Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Easter Sunday 2007

For the second year in a row, we were able to celebrate Easter in the United States. Today was so special to us. We went to church surrounded by many families. Although we were strangers, people were very friendly and happy to see us. We were very happy because we were with family!

Although it was our style of worship, every church does things a little differently – and this church does two things I have never seen done before. As the priest entered the church, he knocked at three different doors and said . . . something, and the entire congregation responded with “Allelujia! Christ is risen!” and then as the priest and choir processed down the center aisle, they made a joyful NOISE – and it was a huge noise, every choir member and many members of the congregation had BELLS which they rang as they sang the opening hymn and it was unexpectedly marvellous!

Here is a photo from the entry to the church:

00stasparish.jpg

The church entry has several shadowboxed collections of crosses from around the world – totally gorgeous. This is just one part of the collection:

00crosscollection.jpg

After church, we had a wonderful family dinner with the parents of our daughter-in-law. The dinner was fabulous. We are in the Southern part of the United States where the cooks have a reputation for being THE BEST. They are the best because they use all the ingredients that make food truly tasty – fat, sugar, eggs, real cream, etc, things that we forbid ourselves most of the year, and oh, how delicious everything was. We had a big green salad with a choice of dressings, green beans with slivered almonds, a big ham, scalloped potatoes and freshly baked biscuits with butter and jam.

I would have to say, this was a wonderful Easter meal; fabulous food, great conversation, lots of laughter. For dessert, the hostess made two of my husband’s very favorite things, coconut cake with a white/coconut icing, and banana pudding with a baked meringue topping – oh oh oh! We hated to leave.

A note of interest – my neice, Little Diamond says that this is one of the rare years when Easter is celebrated on the same day by all the major Christian religions – a rare occasion indeed.

And for those of you who are going to ask, no, I am not going to take up swearing again just because Lent is over. The whole goal was to break myself of a very bad habit that crept into my life on the roads of Kuwait. I will continue to strive to clean up my act!

April 9, 2007 Posted by | Community, Cross Cultural, Diet / Weight Loss, Easter, Florida, Friends & Friendship, Generational, Health Issues, Holiday, Lent, Living Conditions, Lumix, Photos, Relationships, Spiritual, Travel | 7 Comments

In Passing

“Uhm, Mom, I have to sit there” said my son as I slid into a booth in our favorite Vietnamese restaurant and prepared to order some of those tasty salad rolls with peanut sauce that we love.

“Why is that?” I ask territorially, unwilling to move.

“I like to see who’s coming in,” he states flatly.

“So do I” I argue back.

“But I’m the prosecutor,” he says with a sigh.

I move. His need trumps my preference.

He has to watch his back. It’s not one of the happier realities in life. People you “put away” don’t always stay there. And they’re not always happy to see you when they run into you in the gym, or in the Target, or in the grocery store.

My son laughs and tells stories of running into former associates, usually when you are unarmed, and vulnerable in some way. Most of the time it is OK. We’re glad he is careful.

April 9, 2007 Posted by | Adventure, Community, Crime, Cross Cultural, Eating Out, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Florida, Living Conditions, Social Issues, Travel | 10 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 445 other followers