Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Burner Phone

As soon as I arrived, I turned on my “burner” phone, which I bought the last time I travelled in the US. This phone is also called a “throw-down” phone; people in illegal trades use them all the time. They cost like $14.95 and you buy minutes for them.

Unlike the expensive phone I have been buying a new chip for almost every time I come to the US, this phone powers right up after almost three months of never being used, has full power, still has the same number, which I discover is good until NOVEMBER, and even though I dropped it into the cat’s fresh water the first day I bought it, it works. It works.

How can something so cheap be so sturdy and so functional? It doesn’t have all the bells and whistles of my more expensive phones, but it does everything I need it to do – I can make and receive calls, I can make my own phone book, I can speed dial . . .

and it makes me laugh to think I have a drug dealer phone. Hee heee heee, too funny.

July 10, 2007 Posted by | Communication, Crime, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Living Conditions, Random Musings, Travel | 8 Comments

New Mansions in Mangaf (3)

Last – the Grand Finale:

How many people live in a house like this? Is it divided into apartments? When we were looking for a villa, we were shown many houses like this, houses so BIG for two people and a cat that I was afraid we would rattle around in them like marbles. Some houses had four or five living rooms. More than one had a swimming pool on the main floor as you walked into the house. Most had kitchens outside the house, connected by a walkway, and only a tiny microwave/small fridge/coffee maker kind of kitchen inside the house. I am guessing these houses are similar.

00largerhouse.jpg

This has to be an apartment, or several branches of the same family will all have separate suites, with some rooms in common. It’s beautiful, isn’t it?

00hugehouse.jpg

July 10, 2007 Posted by | Building, Community, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Lumix, Photos | 7 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers