Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

A Day at Home Depot

Those of you who read this blog regularly know I have a thing about hardware stores . . . Lowe’s, Home Depot, Ace . . .I can spend hours.

Right now, however, we are doing some renovations on a Florida house, and oh! I am learning so much. I am learning that the very best contractor can’t guarantee that a project will be brought in during the time he promised, that supply lines get kinked, that when you think you have made a very complicated decision (like what kind of counter top you want) it branches into a whole lot more decisions (electrical outlets, wall treatment, edge treatment, sink choice, faucet choices, hauling away and tearing out of original fixtures, plumbing fixtures. . . ) and oh, my head was swimming. It took two hours just to arrange something I smugly thought I had thought through.

Thank God there are people who know a lot more than I do, and who can make me face the tough questions.

As I was leaving the Home Depot, the skies broke loose and water poured down. I waited at the entrance about half an hour, thinking it would lighten up. When it lightened – a little – I ran to the car, but was totally soaked, shoes, clothing, hair – there wasn’t a try spot on me. And the rain continued to pour down. I thought of how badly Pensacola needs this rain, and how welcome rain is in Kuwait, and Doha, when it comes. I sat in the car another half hour, as the rain was flooding through the parking lot, and you couldn’t see very far.

As I was working with the counter-guy, he asked me how I liked living in Kuwait.

I told him I liked it.

“What are the people like?” he asked.

They are good neighbors,” I replied, “A lot like the people in Pensacola. They are believers. They are kind, and generous in spirit. And Kuwait has it’s own beauty, you just have to open your eyes to seeing things in a different way.”

I didn’t tell him about you, my blogging friends, because I’m not sure he is familiar with blogging. And because even here, I treasure my privacy.

Finally, the rain lightened enough for me to drive, very slowly, home, trying to avoid places in the roads where the drains were stopped up or clogged, and water was a foot deep or so. Made it home safely, al hamdallah!

July 16, 2007 - Posted by | Adventure, Building, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Generational, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Random Musings, Relationships, Shopping, Technical Issue, Weather

5 Comments »

  1. Umm, if he read my blog he would flip, but I am sure all of Virgina and DC monitor my blog, especially Dick.

    Comment by Purgatory | July 16, 2007 | Reply

  2. Purg, who do you think is diverting all your calls???

    Comment by intlxpatr | July 16, 2007 | Reply

  3. I Knew it!!!

    Comment by Purgatory | July 16, 2007 | Reply

  4. Sweet of you to say that about Kuwait. When people asked me what’s it like to live in the U.S. (stayed there for 10 yrs..grew up down South). I told them pretty much what you said, you have to open your eyes. :)

    Comment by Я | July 17, 2007 | Reply

  5. Purg – remember that cap the dentist put in? Destroy the implanted microphone!

    R – We learn to think in different ways, don’t we, R? And it just gives us a few more tools in the tool box.

    Comment by intlxpatr | July 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 443 other followers

