Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Pensacola Treehouse

The tree house is an old American tradition, but most treehouses are fairly primitive things, more like a raft high in the tree branches with sticks nailed into the tree to climb up. Few have walls, if it has walls, Daddy probably helped. But look at this house, and it’s magnificent tree house! I think it must have been built by a builder! And I wonder if it has air conditioning?

00pensacolatreehouse.jpg

July 29, 2007 Posted by | Building, Family Issues, Florida, Living Conditions, Lumix, Photos | 7 Comments

McGuire’s for Steak

“I just have a yearning for a steak,” I said to my son’s wife, as we sat in the kitchen chatting and thinking about what to do for dinner. “I know you want to go for a run tonight, but maybe tomorrow night.”

Here is what I have loved about staying with them. Five minutes later she came back to me and said she had talked with her husband and they thought going out for steak tonight would be a very GOOD idea, and they could run tomorrow night.

And the best steaks, they both recommended, were at McGuire’s.

When we got there, the huge parking lot was already full. The street parking all around McGuire’s was full. We dropped off my son and his wife and I went to park in one of the few places they have heard cars are never towed from: Sammy’s Club for Gentlemen. It was still early, and we didn’t get towed.

00maguiressammys.jpg

Because it was their weekly fun-run night, we had to wait for a table. As we waited, runners finishing the run were running past us. Run six runs and you are eligible for the McGuire’s coveted green fun run shirt, with a shamrock on it. Woo hoooooo! I have heard there is a Hash House Harrier group in Kuwait that does something similar, but they change locations every run, whereas the McGuire sponsored runs all end up at – Maguire’s! They have free eats for the runners, who have to rehydrate in the McGuire’s bar.

There is another tradition at McGuires; customer write their name in felt pen on a dollar bill and staple it to the ceiling. The bar has an estimated $500,000 in dollar bills stapled to it’s ceilings, walls, pass throughs, etc. It is an amazing sight.

00maguiresmoney.jpg

The steaks were magnificent. I had the peppercorn steak, and it was so big I took half of it home for the next day. It came with sides – your choice – garlic mashed potatoes, grilled vegetables, asparagas (my choice) and several others. The steaks were perfect, and the entire meal was worth every penny. They also have a good variety of seafood selections, and Irish selections, and a great selection of beer and wines.

July 29, 2007 Posted by | Community, Cross Cultural, Customer Service, Eating Out, Entertainment, Health Issues, Ireland, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Lumix, Photos, Social Issues | 11 Comments

Pensacola Houses

I know you all liked the Kuwaiti mansions I showed being built in the Hilton Hotel area. So for you, I will also turn the tables and show you some houses in Pensacola. There are some real beauties!

I love the stained glass window at the top of this house:
00pensacolahouse2.jpg

I liked this house’s green seclusion, and near-the-water location:
00pensacolahouse1.jpg

I have more, but I need to upload them. . .

July 29, 2007 Posted by | Building, Cross Cultural, Florida, Living Conditions, Lumix, Photos | 3 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 460 other followers