Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Welcome Kuwait Sunrise

Adventure Man looks at me like I am stark-raving-out-of-my-mind.

“It feels different,” I have just said. “I can feel winter coming.”

The temperatures the last couple days have been 118° F. (48° C) going down at night to 91° F (33° C), according to my friends at Weather Underground: Kuwait.

But the five weeks I have been away have made a difference, I can feel it. The sun is rising almost a full hour later. The clouds are different, early in the morning, and there are more of them. No, no, I am not breaking out my sweaters yet, but the shift of the seasons has already begun in Kuwait, and I am nearly dancing for joy. I love the six months of winter in Kuwait.

For some reason, I am not jet lagging so badly this time, or at least not yet. Sometimes it hits me hard a couple days after arriving, but so far, so good.

And look at the Titian sunrise that greeted me this morning:

00welcomesunrisekuwait.jpg

Watch out, Kuwait. Intlxpatr is back!

August 13, 2007 - Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Lumix, Photos, Weather

19 Comments »

  1. I notice it here, too! The weather is total dog-days of August, but we are long past the days when the sun rose before I did. And the sun changes the prayer times, so I can “feel” the change in my ears as well as in my eyes.

    I love the way the seasons mark time for us :)

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. Welcome Back Intlxpatr :D

    Can I steal your apartment!? :P

    Comment by kinano | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. Little Diamond, remind me to ask you about the asparagus gene. Sparkle has it, I have it . . . I wonder if you have it. Clearly you have the seasonal sensitivity gene! :-)

    Kinano – When I am done with it!

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  4. Welcomeback !!
    would you believe the temp. was 29 C and we were BBQing outside lastweekend !? im not making this up really… if someone would have told me this i wouldnt have believed them ,, i never ever experienced such weather in august must be Global Warming at its finest .. :)

    PS lovely picture,, your window gave your shot some cool effect you should patent it :P heheh

    Comment by Abdulaziz | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  5. welcome back :D

    i go walking around 6pm and i noticed it too a few days ago. it didnt quite feel like an oven out there :P

    last weekend i was chilling by the beach and didnt even break a sweat!

    august is different this year, as abdulaziz said. global warming rocks!

    Comment by sknkwrkz | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  6. Welcome back, nice photograph!

    Comment by N. | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. Abdulaziz, barbecueing outside? Really? It’s still pretty hot out, but almost pleasant at night, isn’t it? Amazing.

    No special effect, A, that’s exactly how it looked. I’m sleeping OK at night but up early in the morning! That was taken around 5:15 am, and that is exactly what the sky looked like!

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  8. Hey Skunk, thanks. I’m surprised, I thought I remembered August as being pretty awful, very humid. this isn’t bad at all!

    N – thanks! and welcome! and I’m glad to be back.

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  9. I realized its natural after i saw the picture again on my laptop … the first time i saw it it was on my desk top there were multiple halos around the sun !! i need a new monitor !! looooool

    Comment by Abdulaziz | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  10. Beautiful pic! The weather is changing here and Cyprus too! I did love the six months of winter in Kuwait, and I like them in Cyprus too! Finland was a bit too dark for my taste! :P

    Comment by noracassandra | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  11. welcome back!

    Comment by EniGma | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  12. welcome back ;) and that’s a pretty awesome pic..

    Comment by cixousianpanic | August 14, 2007 | Reply

  13. Sigh. Its been fall all summer here in Seattle. I think we had 2 weeks of summer right before July 4. End of story.

    Comment by sparkleplenty | August 14, 2007 | Reply

  14. WHOA! wait! wait! Abdulaziz, I want that monitor! It sounds like a very cool effect! LOL!

    Noracassandra – how interesting – everyone checking in is saying their weather is a little different this year. . . and here, and in Seattle, they are saying it is cooler . . . opposite of what I would have thought from global warming.

    Thanks, EniGma! It’s good to be back. :-)

    Thanks Cixousianpanic, and I am happy to see you, too!

    You know, Sparkle, I really enjoyed having a little coolness in Seattle! And there were several very summary days and hard-to-sleep nights! No A/C!

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 14, 2007 | Reply

  15. love the photo, and agree–early a.m. walks here in Doho have not been too bad. Mostly commenting b/c I love the word “titian”…reminds me of Nancy Drew (and you!). :)

    Comment by Grammy | August 14, 2007 | Reply

  16. No darling it’s been so hot here this year! It hasn’t been this hot since 2000!! But as the weather cools down from 40c – 34c you can start feel the autumn knocking on its way!

    Finland on the other hand has had a horrible cold summer… Every one has been saying it’s one of the worst in years! But since August knocked on their door it became warm and reached the 30c almost! Now that is for sure not normal for a Finnish August!

    Comment by noracassandra | August 14, 2007 | Reply

  17. Grammy – Doho? Maybe the heat is getting to you? ;-) As for Titian, at first I wrote Tiepolo, thinking he ws the one who did all the ceilings with the amazing sky and glowing clouds, but I couldn’t find a single example, so I changed it to Titian, who also did the glowing clouds thing. I think I’m losing my mind. . .

    Noracassandra – Ooooh, hot hot summer in Cyprus! And cold in Finland – time to stoke up the sauna? Do you have a sauna in Cyprus for the winter months?

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 14, 2007 | Reply

  18. We’re planning for one! But not yet! It’s like 15c may be bit bellow 10c in the night and that’s for 1-2months only!! So no rush for the sauna! ;) We haven’t built our house yet but then we’ll get it done for sure!

    Comment by noracassandra | August 14, 2007 | Reply

  19. Beautiful picture, I may well visit those parts myself some day, however for the time being Cyprus weather suits me just fine :)

    Comment by yourmovecyprus | August 31, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers

