Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

QC Helps with the Cleaning

I am working back in the project room, which is also the guest room, trying to get it all cleaned out for guests arriving soon. It is a major task. When I am working, things can get pretty chaotic. The room gets vacuumed and dusted regularly, but, in truth, it isn’t easy to dust when all the sufaces are covered with items I might use.

And when cleaning up, things really need to be put back in the right place (or I will never see them again!) and sorted so I know what I have to work with.

Thank God I have the Qatteri Cat to help me out:

September 25, 2007 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Pets, Relationships | 13 Comments

We Do Not Have Homosexuals in Iran

I found this clip through Global Voices Kuwait who got it from somewhere else, too! Isn’t the net great?

Mahmud Ahmadinejad,Iranian president,said,in Columbia University,”we do not have homosexuals in Iran like you do in your country.” He brought the house down. Most just laughed, a few boo-ed.

The Columbia University president has taken a lot of criticism for his decision to have Ahmadinejad speak. He stuck to his guns.

You can see the film clip for yourself here: We Do Not have Homosexuals in Iran.

September 25, 2007 Posted by | Communication, Community, Entertainment, Family Issues, Free Speech, Humor, Kuwait, Language, Leadership, Lies, Living Conditions, Mating Behavior, Political Issues, Social Issues | 12 Comments

Ramadan Futoor

I was invited to a friend’s for Iftar the other day. We played, and as the day lengthened, she napped while I read. Her husband came down yelling “get up! get up! It’s almost time!” and had the radio on so we could hear the sound of the cannon, announcing the end of the day’s fasting.

We had water and dates, and then soup. Because these are dear friends, and because they love me, we also had Kuwaiti fish!

It was stuffed with parsley, onions and garlic, oh WOW. It was delicious.

As we ate, they were telling me about the thin thin pancakes you can buy at this time of the year to make a special stew. They are made on a dome shaped pan, with a very liquid dough, and evidently you can buy them at the co-op or along the side of the road (I have got to find one of these women!) because the thin pancake you can get during Ramadan is very close, I think, to the brik skin that you use for the Tuna Tunisienne which, hmmmmmm, could also be made with just about any leftover fish.

You have to be quick, because the dough is so fragile. While the photo shows all the ends tucked in, I was never that good, and neither are most Tunisiens – most of the brik I ate in Tunisia were all just folded over and fried in olive oil. So you have to have the oil hot before you put the brik in, and it sizzles, but it can’t be too hot because it has to cook long enough to cook the egg (if you add egg) or to heat the tuna through. Ohhhh, yummmm!

I was also asking about Swair’s Ramadan Soft Dumplings / Lgaimat and they were laughing and telling me how hard they are to make well, and that you have to eat them all the same day they are made, they are so fragile.

Later in the meal, as they were showing me low to roll the rice and fish into a ball together and pop it into your mouth in the old gulf way, my host mentioned the act of making that ball is called “ligma” and – – – ta da! it is the same root as Swair’s lgaimat!

I don’t know about you, but making a connection like that is like having a big light go on in my head. I love it. I can’t always remember words correctly unless I write them down, but this one – making balls to pop in your mouth/ making sweet dumplings balls – don’tcha just love it when things come together like that?

(I am posting this early in the day because you won’t feel hungry for fish this early if you are fasting – I hope – and it might give you a good idea for tonight’s Futoor!) Ramadan kareem!

September 25, 2007 Posted by | Adventure, Blogging, Communication, Community, Cooking, Cross Cultural, Cultural, Eating Out, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Friends & Friendship, Kuwait, Ramadan, Words | 10 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 482 other followers