Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

The Onion: Bomb New York

First, folks, this is SATIRE. It’s from The Onion which is pure spoof on news. (Thanks Skunk, for the Utube location!)

October 8, 2007 Posted by | Community, Free Speech, Humor, Joke, Lies, Satire | 6 Comments

Charity?

Today I found this in my spam. Again, folks, this is satire, not a recommendation that you “support me and send more and more money.” It is so straightforward and so manipulative and so fraudulent that it gave me a good laugh:

I WANT FINANCIAL HELP FROM ALL WORLD

DEAR SIR/MADAM,

I’M A INDIAN POOR AND LONG DISEASE MAN MY FINANCIAL CONDITION IS VERY POOR
MY LIFE DEPEND ON THE CREDIT SYSTEM BUT AT PRESENT ANY PERSON DON’T PAY ANY
MONEY SO I’M VERY STRESS AND SAD I’M ALONE IN THE WORLD. ANY BODY DOES’T HELP ME.
I WANT HELP FROM MONEY/DONATE MONEY. SO I APPEAL TO ALL WORLD PLEASE YOU HELP ME FROM
MONEY /DONATE MONEY YOU SEND ME CHEQUE/DEMAND DRAFT/MONEY TRANSFFER AT MY A/C NO.
9648 AT UNION BANK OF INDIA.

I’M GLAD TO YOURS ALL LIFE. YOU SUPPORT ME AND SEND MORE & MORE MONEY AT MY
A/C. NO. 9648. MY A/C BAL. IS $5 ONLY.

MY BANK ADD:
UNION BANK OF INDIA(SAVING A/C NO.9648)
PURANI MANDI, RAIWALA
DISTT: SAHARANPUR
STATE : U.P. PIN CODE- 247001
COUNTRY: INDIA
PH NO. 0091-132-9758559422
WWW.UNIONBANKOFINDIA.COM

THANKING YOU
Yours truly,
AYAZUDDIN

October 8, 2007 Posted by | Blogging, Communication, Crime, Cultural, ExPat Life, Financial Issues, Humor, Lies, Satire, Social Issues | 10 Comments

Dripping

I can hear the air conditioning laboring away, but when Adventure Man walked in last night, the first thing he asked is “is the air conditioning working?” Part of the problem was that I was using the oven yesterday, but the thermometers are showing the temperatures are nearly exactly what they always are – it is the humidity that makes it feel so hot.

I am fine if I am on the computer or reading – as long as I am not moving around. If I lift something, if I exert myself in the slightest way – I am dripping! I almost wondered if something was the matter with me. Then I realized everyone else was dripping, too, and it isn’t just me.

When we go to bed at night, our windows are hazed with moisture to the point that we can’t see out. My skin gets all itchy from the salty sweat, and I am showering three or four times a day! What is this?

Is this normal for October? I thought I remembered this kind of humidity in August, but not in October! It’s only going to be 102°F/39°C today – and Friday, the forecast says it won’t even break 100; it will be 98°F/37°C. Wooo Hoooooo!

October 8, 2007 Posted by | ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Weather | 9 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers