Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Christmas for Expats

By the time October hits, it is almost too late for many expats to be thinking about Christmas. Packages have to be in the mail in time for a December 25th delivery, and that can mean different things in different countries.

Even travel and delivering the gifts yourself has become more challenging; one of the changes 9/11 made in all our lives is that we can no longer travel with wrapped gifts; baggage inspectors must be able to look at everything we pack, which means a mad scramble on the arriving end to get everything wrapped and labled before delivery.

We all face that universal problem – what to get for the people who already have everything?

So I sent to Find Me a Gift.

Here were some of their suggestions:

Become a Lord or a Lady – Buy Yourself a Title
lord-lady-laird-title-moo5.jpg

Name a Star
ccp010.jpg

Neiman Marcus always has outrageous and imaginative gifts for the people who have everything, and this year one of the catalog items is a Top Stars Orchestra concert for only $1,590,000.00

(Their 100 year anniversary catalog is a must-see, even if just for the giggles)

And, of course, here in Kuwait you can make a donation of time, goods or money to Operation Hope – Kuwait to help Sheryll Mairza with her 2007 goal of feeding and providing winter clothing for 7,000 poor laborers here who are unprepared for the cold winter to come.

October 21, 2007 - Posted by | Blogroll, Christmas, Community, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Social Issues, Spiritual

10 Comments »

  1. You remind me of the running joke in the US about x-mas being earlier and earlier. This time its before Halloween even ;p
    Oh my dear friend xpat, I guess it is the same in every country, feeling obligated to fullfill social obligations and such.
    The link of operation hope has made my day to see people caring. As always, keep up the good fight :)

    Comment by Kaos | October 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. But now a lot of the US stores gift wrap and ship your items so you shouldn’t have a problem sending a beautifully wrapped thoughtful gift to someone in the US. BUT you’d have to pick something online rather than go out and look at it yourself.

    I wanna name a star after me. And I want to be knighted. But I don’t think they knight women. Still, I think it’s nice to be called Sir SomethingSomething :P

    (If you really want to be original AND if you’re strapped for cash maybe you can send a jar with some Kuwaiti sand & seashells in it for the person who already has everything?)

    Comment by 1001 Kuwaiti Nights | October 21, 2007 | Reply

  3. Amazon is my savior come Christmas time. Also, I LOVE Christmas cards at Mark & Spencer’s but they put them out so late last year. I always buy their charity cards. A portion of the proceeds goes to up to five charities listed on the back of each card.

    Comment by Stinni | October 21, 2007 | Reply

  4. Kaos – oh, you gave me a good laugh, and a good groan. You’re right – the social obligations may be different, but they exist in every country. Christmas – It’s a matter of mail deadlines, and also travel plans, trying to get what I need all organized. When I was in the US in July, the 2008 calendars showed up in the Barnes and Nobles.

    You’re right, Zin, and I’ve done the online thing, but it just isn’t as personal. It just isn’t so satisfying. (Today’s Gilmore Girls featured the Birkin bag on American Plus.)

    Your title would be “Lady Zin” or “Lady 1001 Knights” :-)

    Stinni – I have Amazon stock, I am not kidding, we order so much from there!
    I think there are some Bazaars coming up where you can also find unique items – like the KTAA bazaar. Oh! And the Jarir! ;-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | October 21, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hey, I’m the one who would really LIKE the jar of sand & seashells from Kuwait. What a great idea, Lady 1001KN!

    Gifts really are difficult, no matter what time of year. Practically speaking, we should all keep a “20 types of gifts I would like” list to share – so handy.

    Comment by SparklePlenty | October 21, 2007 | Reply

  6. [...] intlxpatr created an interesting post today on Christmas for Expats.Here’s a short outline:By the time October hits, it is almost too late for many expats to be thinking about Christmas. Packages have to be in the mail in time for a December 25th delivery, and that can mean different things in different countries. … [...]

    Pingback by www.christmasforallofus.info » Christmas for Expats | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  7. Sparkle, I would love to see that list of 20 types of gifts you would like, hint hint!

    Comment by intlxpatr | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  8. We’re fixing to buy an x-mas tree and all that, I guess there won’t be a problem for us in buying xmas gifts. Everyone we know lives in Kuwait.

    I once had a friend send me a card for X-mas..I got it in March the following year, and it was postmarked in September!

    Blame lays with the Kuwaiti post.

    Comment by Я | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  9. Kuwait has a post? I’ve never seen a post office. Everyone talks about DHL and delivery services . . .I’ve never gotten a letter, or a bank statement . . .I’ve never seen anything about new stamp issues . . I guess I didn’t think about it.

    I am so glad Gabby has a nice new home – I don’t know if you remember but the Qatteri Cat pulled our Christmas tree over this last year. How are things going with Mouse?

    Comment by intlxpatr | October 22, 2007 | Reply

  10. I have the perfect gift for those family members that are out of town, out of state, and out of the country during the holidays: send them a webcam and a link for http://www.ooVoo.com. This is FREE video messaging service with great audio and visual quality. It also allows up to 6 people to be involved in the video conference. The holidays are meant to be about spending time with family, so this is the best gift I have found yet. And it doesn’t run into any problems at the airport.

    Comment by Chessia | November 29, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

