Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Cretan Olive Oil

This response is to a post I wrote October 25th on The Olive Oil scandal, that even when you buy a brand you have thought is reliable, you may not be getting what you paid for. For me, it was particularly horrifying to discover they were adulterating the olive oil with hazlenut oil – I don’t have a severe allergy to hazlenuts, but they make the insides of my ears itch. I avoid hazlenuts!

I keep getting such good responses to the post – and I have a partiality (disclaimer!) to small producers of anything, from olive oil to soap to pecans . . . I love buying from the entrepreneur.

Which is why I have taken this response from the comments page and made it an entry. Thank you, Mr. Sassone, for your thoughtful addition to this subject:

It is indeed a shame that the majority of the olive oil on the American and world market has been adulterated by unscrupulous sellers looking for enormous profits.

That is why I started growing olives on the island of Crete, making extra virgin olive oil-EVOO, and importing it to the US. I personally observe all steps in the process from the time the olive flowers bud on the tree until the EVOO goes in the can. I know it is the cleanest, freshest, highest quality, and most healthful EVOO you can buy at any price.

I also offer all customers copies of test reports from independent laboratories that show the exact quality. Acidity is 0.17%. Total polyphenols are 165ppm. Peroxide value is 6. Nothing can compare at any price.

When people buy EVOOs that are labeled as a mix of oil from several countries, they must take this into account: How clean was process to gather the olives? How clean was the factory that processed the oil? How clean were the trucks that transported the oil to the ship? How clean was the ship that transported the oil? You can see where this is going. At any one or more of dozens of steps in the process, contamination can occur. Some of the olive producing countries do not have food the safety standards like the European Union or US Food and Drug Administration.

My curiosity got the best of me. Recently, I sent samples of 13 EVOOs sold in the US for lab testing to find out just how good or bad they are. I dont have a web site just yet, but will publish the results as a comparison to my oil. So long as I keep complete control of the entire process, I can improve the quality of my oil each year.

My EVOO is now available in the US. It is the finest quality and most healthful EVOO you can buy at any price. Send me and email if interested. kretareserve@cox.net Thanks. Tony

November 6, 2007 - Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Cooking, Entrepreneur, Health Issues, Hygiene, Shopping, Social Issues, Technical Issue | , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I mentioned before that organic olive oil from Crete used to be available in all the stores here for a while. It was SO good. I miss it. :(

    Comment by Stinni | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  2. Interesting.
    So many secrets revolve around the food industry. We got to the point that our food is not natural anymore. It’s more or less manufatured

    Comment by xskaos | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. I remember, Stinni! It was just a wonderful coincidence that Tony wrote his comment. And I love Crete!

    XKaos – I’ve been told that one of the secrets is to eat food that has as little processing as possible – (washed) fruits, and vegetables, grains, rice – and to read labels and if there is a name on the list of ingredients you have never heard of, it is over-processed. Simplistic, but it makes sense. And we still have apples, and walnuts, and eggs, and salad greens, and oh! spinach is coming into season!

    Comment by intlxpatr | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  4. Where can I purchase the crete olive oil bar soap? Please provide webstite or address and price.

    Comment by Renee Wilson | January 12, 2008 | Reply

  5. Renee, I have no idea! You might want to google it!

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 13, 2008 | Reply

  6. Mohammed Fakher Hamida for production & bottling olive oil & food soul
    Edleb -salqeen- Syria

    Company site:

    The company has been established in Edleb region in Salqeen which is consider one of the most rich areas of best olive trees in Syria, which is close to international roads and Syrian ports and that’s for speed delivery to the consumer in the domestic and global market

    About the Company:

    Mohamed Sobhi Hamida and his brothers founds the company in 1967 which is consider one of the first companies in the area for trading olive and olive oil, in the beginning, the company’s operations was limited in supplying olive oil to the nearby provinces only.
    And for the result of the growing demand for our olive oil because of the good oil quality and the good reputation of our company it has become necessary to establish presses to extract olive oil.

    in 1994 we expanded the facility to production olive oil of capacity (50 tons) one line

    in 2004 we expanded the facility in entering a second production line of capacity (80 tons) so the total production is 130 tons.

    In 2007 we added automatic line bottling

    As the consequence of this our work expand within and outside the country, our company has become from the first companies in the production and supplying of the best types of filtered and pure olive oil (according to the specifications of the International council of Olive), using the latest Italian equipment and sophisticated automatically packaging so the olive oil is not exposed to air

    Types of olive oil:

    1- Extra Virgin Olive Oil
    2 – Virgin Olive Oil

    Packages:

    -Metal packages of capacity (2 liter to 16 kilograms).
    -Glass packages of Capacity (250 mm to 3 liters).
    -Plastic explosive of capacity (175 mm to 5 liters).
    -Packages for importing and shipping:
    -Reservoirs (Flexi) of capacity (20 tons).
    -Drums / septic iron processor of capacity (200 kg) bottled by the required specifications from the consumer).
    -Plastic tanks of Capacity (1000 liters).

    Comment by mohammad fakher | April 2, 2008 | Reply

  7. Mohammed, I don’t usually allow people to market on my blog, but I will make an exception for you, just send me a case of that lovely Syrian olive oil, please! ;-)

    Truly, I love Syria and I love olive oil. You don’t have to send me anything. I wish you well.

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 2, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 482 other followers

