Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Very Funny Jeep Commercials

You have to watch this all the way to the end, when the music – and the mood – changes!

And them watch this one, I think it is called Sandbox, which was the one I was looking for first – reminds me of Qatar and Kuwait:

February 10, 2008 Posted by | Adventure, Cross Cultural, Entertainment, Fiction, Humor, Kuwait, Qatar | 1 Comment

StatCounter

A week or so ago, fellow blogger Macaholiq8 mentioned StatCounter in his entry, and how much fun he was having with it. I had a couple minutes, so I took a look, and signed up to give it a try.

Oh, what fun.

It doesn’t work on all WordPress functions – or maybe it would if I knew how to tell it to, but the things it doesn’t do for me – analyze key words, most viewed pages, etc – WordPress does just fine.

UPDATE: THANKS TO YOUSEF at Some Contrast who rescued me with the key key command to take a photo of my visitor map:

00visitormap.jpg

What StatCounter does is something else. My very favorite part is looking at where the viewers are coming from, they divide it up, give you percentages. I can see that a lot of schools in the United States follow the blog, but also, people in Australia, China, Iran – oh, it is so much fun to see all the drops show up on the map.

You can get an idea what StatCounter can do for you at their website demo:

StatCounter Demo

And it’s free. You can buy upgraded service that gives you more, but for me, and for right now, the free service is just fine, fascinating, really.

Thanks, Mac, for a great recommendation.

February 10, 2008 Posted by | Blogging, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Experiment, GoogleEarth, Kuwait, Technical Issue | 16 Comments

Scattered Clouds

At seven this morning, it was already 50°F/10°C – BIG change from last week. At seven in Kuwait, it is 8 PM in Seattle, where the temperature is 49°F/9°C – almost exactly the same, just a little warmer in Kuwait as the day gets started.

Weather Underground Kuwait tells us today we will see scattered clouds, and that right now we have “mist.” I am seeing a while lot of mist. I am a little shocked, because my balcony was all misted this morning; that doesn’t happen often. But “scattered” clouds? Right now, there is a thick cloud cover, but it may dissipate as the day warms up.

This is what the scattered clouds did to the sunrise this morning:

00scattered-clouds.jpg

You might wonder why I do this every morning. It all started because I really love sunrises, and every sunrise has something that makes it special from the others. (Well, not every single one; you will see some mornings I miss sunrise or skip it.) Also, my friends and family like being able to see through my eyes, to see a little of the world I live in. As an additional bonus, there are Kuwaitis all over the world who miss home, and who like to see a glimpse of what today looks like in Kuwait. I get e-mails in the background from expats who lived here as children, and are shocked by the changes.

Now you know all the reasons for the morning report.

The clouds are for my blogging buddy Fonzy who photographs clouds the way I photograph sunrises.

February 10, 2008 Posted by | Blogging, Community, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, sunrise series, Weather | 7 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers