Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

StatCounter

A week or so ago, fellow blogger Macaholiq8 mentioned StatCounter in his entry, and how much fun he was having with it. I had a couple minutes, so I took a look, and signed up to give it a try.

Oh, what fun.

It doesn’t work on all WordPress functions – or maybe it would if I knew how to tell it to, but the things it doesn’t do for me – analyze key words, most viewed pages, etc – WordPress does just fine.

UPDATE: THANKS TO YOUSEF at Some Contrast who rescued me with the key key command to take a photo of my visitor map:

00visitormap.jpg

What StatCounter does is something else. My very favorite part is looking at where the viewers are coming from, they divide it up, give you percentages. I can see that a lot of schools in the United States follow the blog, but also, people in Australia, China, Iran – oh, it is so much fun to see all the drops show up on the map.

You can get an idea what StatCounter can do for you at their website demo:

StatCounter Demo

And it’s free. You can buy upgraded service that gives you more, but for me, and for right now, the free service is just fine, fascinating, really.

Thanks, Mac, for a great recommendation.

February 10, 2008 - Posted by | Blogging, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Experiment, GoogleEarth, Kuwait, Technical Issue

16 Comments »

  1. I guess thats the reason I like blogspot!

    Comment by Amu | February 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. 1. press on “PrtSc” meaning print screen
    2. Open Microsoft Paint, and then go to “edit” and click “paste”
    3. voila, the pics opens up there :)

    Comment by Fonzy | February 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. Glad you’re happy there, Amu. You do have a nice looking site.

    Thanks, Fonzy, but none of that works on my MacPro! I think I have to do something different, it’s a keystroke thing, easy but I can’t remember what it is!

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 10, 2008 | Reply

  4. click Command, shift and number 3 all at once. it will take a picture of ur screen and save it on your desktop :)

    the command key is the key with the apple logo, next to the space bar.

    btw, how did you get statcounter to work on your wordpress account :?:

    Comment by Yousef | February 10, 2008 | Reply

  5. Yousef . . . ummm. . . errr . . . this is so embarassing . . . I followed the instructions. You use the Text Widget under Presentation / Widgets and then you paste in the text they give you at StatCounter.

    Thank YOU for the comand/shift/3 – I couldn’t remember how to do it!

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 10, 2008 | Reply

  6. no actually I’m the who should be embarrassed :P i didn’t know they started supporting wordpress! it was impossible when i tried a few months ago… so yeah :) thanks for the tip :D

    Comment by Yousef | February 10, 2008 | Reply

  7. Yousef, it doesn’t do everything on WordPress, but it does a lot of things WordPress doesn’t do, which is cool. Have fun, and thanks again for helping me photo my visitor map!

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 10, 2008 | Reply

  8. You are most welcome. :)

    As for screen capturing, I know you already know it but here’s a better option, Command+Shift+4 use “4″ instead of “3″, it will allow you to capture a selection area of the screen. As for more helpful hints, tips, and shortcuts check my Mac Starters Guide entry.

    Hope you find it useful & good luck. ;)

    Comment by MacaholiQ8 | February 10, 2008 | Reply

  9. Oh and I almost forgot… The only downside of StatCounter Maps is that it doesn’t show a log of all visits, it just shows recent ones. That’s why I have My World Visitor Map at the bottom of my blog. It keeps logging every visit! So check if it compatible with WordPress get one soon, I’m sure it’ll be filled within a few weeks. ;)

    Comment by MacaholiQ8 | February 10, 2008 | Reply

  10. I noticed (at least on my site) that statcounter was lacking when I passed 100 hits. There are some data limits which really skewed my numbers. However, upgrading to GoStats solved that for me :) For a while I even used both of them in tandem.

    Comment by Ray | February 11, 2008 | Reply

  11. I have bookmarked your instruction guide, Mac, and thank you! Yeh, StatCounter only shows my most recent 500 visitors, because I haven’t upgraded, but it is still so much fun! I’ll have to check out the World Visitor Map.

    Ray – I think the older versions of StatCounter only gave you 100 (unless you did the paid upgrade) but the one I am using is more recent, and gives 500. GoStats, hmmmmmm. . . .? I’ll have to take a look! Thanks for the recommendation!

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 11, 2008 | Reply

  12. Just thought you’d like to know that in many provinces in China it is impossible to access wordpress blogs. So, whenever I visit your blog, the visit will look like one from France or Germany or some other European country. That is because I use a proxy server located in one of those places. However, I am typing this is in Thailand, so you should have a visit from there, too! Cheers!

    Comment by global gal | February 13, 2008 | Reply

  13. How totally funny, Global Gal! I know you also use a “mirror” or something to blog from China on WordPress; you’ll have to explain that to me as my friend Skunk is moving to Turkey, where WordPress is also banned.

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 13, 2008 | Reply

  14. Have your friend visit this page: http://advocacy.globalvoicesonline.org/tools/ There they discuss using the program TOR, which allows access to virtually ALL blocked sites. There are others out there, so perhaps also do some google searches for “proxy servers”

    and perhaps visit the Reporters Without Borders website, I know they have some guides for beating the censors there. (I can’t access it in China!) and http://www.eff.org/

    Comment by Global Gal | February 18, 2008 | Reply

  15. I not only no longer have the counter, but when I go back to their site www. statcounter. com, all I find are a bunch of links that display nothing.

    I can’t find anyone else complaining about this on the internet. Do you know what’s up?

    Comment by Lynn T | December 15, 2008 | Reply

  16. Lynn, the website you typed in is a blog, not he StatCounter Website. If you click on the StatCounter block you will see just above the recent comment section, that will take you to the real StatCounter. I just checked mine, logged in just fine, everything operating as usual.

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

