Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Which one was the Kuwaiti?

From Kuwait Times, Thursday, 3 April:

Thief arrested

Two military personnel were strolling around a shopping mall when they noticed a man assault an Asian woman. They chased and caught the man who was trying to escape after stealing her handbag. They handed the man over to Farwaniya police, who on checking records, found that the Kuwaiti was sentenced in abstentia for a drug offence.

OK, I am guessing the military guys were Kuwaiti. Was the thief Kuwaiti? We have a possibility of three Kuwaitis plus the policemen – which one was sentenced in abstentia?

April 3, 2008 - Posted by | Crime, Just Bad English, Kuwait, News

8 Comments »

  1. the way i read it, the thief was kuwaiti and when taken to the police station and processed, they discovered that he was already sentenced in abstentia for a drug offence.

    he probably stole her bag to get some money to buy drugs!

    it doesnt say if the security personnel were kuwaiti, could be american or british you never know!

    damn i wish these reporters would take some english grammer lessons!

    Comment by ananyah | April 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. Me too, ananyah! For some reason, I just have a think about pronouns being CLEAR in their referents.

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. journalists here are a joke. come to think of it, journalism as a whole is a joke over here. they think anyone with an able, working hand is a journalist.
    what do you expect from the kuwait times when their editor in chief is a Filipino with a bachelors in english lit? its true, i had the choice to intern there. obviously passed.
    u makef mrmf anger…

    Comment by Mrm | April 3, 2008 | Reply

  4. Grrrr ! what/who is Asian anyways? Why the press is ashamed to call us by the name of COuntry? I feel sooooooooooo upset when i read the word Asian .. its so deregatory. I have still no clue if a Asian is a Bangali cleaner or a Phillipino Maid or a North Korean COnstruction worker.

    Anyways how you assumed the Asian was a Maid? You mean all Asians are Maids , they can’t afford the ‘ mall’ stuff? It could Have been Jappo Ambassdor’s wife right?

    If my geography serves me right , Kuwait is in Asia , so Kuwaiti’s are Asians as well, so the article should be ‘ two local Asian Military personnel strolling the mall when they caught a gangsta Asian pistol whipping the real Asian .
    BTW half of Europe’s popluation are decendents of Gengis khan who won the Oscar for Best Asian of the year back in 1162.

    So to say .. we all are Asians.

    Comment by Annoyed 'ASS-IAN' | April 3, 2008 | Reply

  5. hahaha

    we really have to be politically correct on blogs as well as the press :P

    Comment by jewaira | April 3, 2008 | Reply

  6. All I know is it wasn’t me!

    Comment by Lofter | April 4, 2008 | Reply

  7. BTW… I saw Gengis khan at the Oscars a few years back. He thought he was gonna get special recognition for his work in populating the planet, but he was passed over. I’m not sure, but I think he was upset about it.

    Comment by Lofter | April 4, 2008 | Reply

  8. Mrm – I wish you hadn’t passed. I would have loved to see what you can do. We all have to take annoying jobs at first – pay our dues. You have talent, and I would like to see you use it.

    Annoyed – I was so focused on the grammar that I totally lost control of my smart mouth. You are right. I was wrong. I took out that offending, smart-mouthed line and I sincerely apologize. You are right. It was offensive and I apologize for being so oblivious.

    Jewaira – You are right, too. I don’t know what happened there. I am sorry.

    Lofter – No, it wasn’t you! It wasn’t even the best example of truly poor grammar, it was just one I spotted and it was the straw breaking the camel’s back. I HATE when it is unclear in a NEWSPAPER!

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers

