Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Shiite Mosques?

On the same road as the earlier photo taken in Mubarak Al Kebir, just along the road (I think it is 250) was this mosque. It has writing on it, around the top, but the dome is not green. It has lights at night. Is this a Shiite mosque?

This mosque in Fehaheel doesn’t have writing, so I think it is a Sunni mosque, but it is so PINK and so pretty – and mostly the more delicate mosques are Shiite. Is this one Sunni or Shiia?

April 24, 2008 - Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Building, Community, Cross Cultural, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions

22 Comments »

  1. there is a beautiful mosque in subah alsalim overlooking the 6th ring road. really good one, especially at night

    Comment by Hasan.B | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. You do realize that they can catch you for taking pictures of mosques without a 7ejab in kuwait?

    Comment by Purgatory | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. I think I know the one you mean, Hasan B, I think you can also see it from 30? It has two thin, delicate minarets, and a blue dome that is a little like a big onion dome, with a peak on it?

    Purgatory, but if they catch me, what on earth can they do to me? 8-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  4. Is the dome blue? Not sure, but is has a yellowish appearance, the whole building I mean. It its on an almost empty land which makes it very visible on the road. Its exactly opposite to meshrif. And what is really good about it is that it has a lovely interior design as well. I think they do not mind you going inside if you ask them in advance. If you like to see it that its.

    Comment by Hasan.B | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  5. I can’t tell

    Comment by pearls | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  6. You can tell them apart from the call for prayer, they slightly differ from one another, nonetheless they don’t seem to be shiite mosques.

    Comment by error | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  7. Skin you alive

    Comment by Purgatory | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  8. @Purg

    She’s taking pictures from the OUTSIDE, not inside. Hence, she doesn’t need to wear a Hijab or get arrested for that matters. As far as I know, taking pictures of mosques from the outside is completely permissible.

    Comment by Angelo | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  9. The mosque Hasan talked about is BEAUTIFUL. I have never seen it up close, but from far away I can see it at night from my window.

    Comment by Enigma | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  10. I’m pretty sure I know the mosque you mean, Hasan B., and if it is the same one, it truly is BEAUTIFUL. I would love to see it up close, and will try to see if I can wheedle my way inside between prayers . . . I do have scarves with which I can cover my hair!

    Pearls, I was fooled by the first one because it has writing on it around the top, and I thought that meant it was Shiite.

    Thank you, Error.

    LOL @ Purgatory. You’ve got your own problems (STALKERS)

    Thank you Angelo. He is just giving me a bad time; he can’t help it. I think he has sisters.

    Enigma – LUCKY you! :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  11. They usually have green lights I think..

    According to what I’ve read the mosques shouldn’t be overly designed and decorated from the inside so the person praying wouldn’t be distracted by the decorations.

    ..so perhaps all you’ll find’s a chandelier coming down from the dome.

    Comment by suspic | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  12. Is there a difference between shiite and sunni mosques?

    Comment by zainoba | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  13. shiite mosques dont have to have green domes. and u cant tell them apart from the outside, or the inside for that matter.

    theres a mosque in janoob surra thats gorgeous! inside and out.

    Comment by eshda3wa | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  14. La7tha HasanB…i think the one ur talking about isnt on the 6th ring road ;/ thats fahaheel.

    Intlxpatr : Ur so cute ;> very observational.

    Comment by Delicately Realistic | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  15. Nope I am positive it is on the 6th ring road.

    Comment by Hasan.B | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  16. No they don’t have to be green or anything.. just the call of the prayer is different..

    Comment by ::: ShoSho ::: | April 25, 2008 | Reply

  17. In 2003 I went towards the Bobyan island they have a really beautiful red mosque in the middle of the desert!

    Comment by Amu | April 25, 2008 | Reply

  18. Suspic – that makes sense. There is an opposing school of thought (just speaking of aesthetics here, this school of thought pertains to churches) that some artistic works can enhance the religious experience. I would think it is a fine line – even beautiful calligraphy with the name of God COULD be a distraction, if you are inclined to be distracted.

    I LOVE chandeliers! I would find a chandelier distracting, but as you may have guessed, being easily distracted is part of my nature. Focus, Intlxpatr, focus!

    Zainoba – I didn’t know, either, until one of my readers pointed it out to me. I am learning how much I don’t even know I don’t know.

    3shda3wa – I might have seen it on the outside. Does it have a LOT of small domes? What is it like on the inside?

    DR + Hasan B – I don’t know how observant I am – I think we are talking about the same mosque, but today when I went past, I noticed it only has ONE minaret and a YELLOW dome! There is another mosque nearby with two minarets. I am thinking this is the same one because when it is lit up at night, it is AWESOME.

    In a big empty field, you can see this beautiful mosque great from 30/Fehaheel highway AND from 6th ring / Mishref. (We drove the entire length of 6th ring today to see ;-) It’s in a corner area, so it is easily seen from both directions – if this is the same one, and I am thinking it is.

    Thank you, ShoSho, and what about the writing around the top? Does that make it more probably a Shiite Mosque, or just possibly? (Hope all is well with you.)

    This I must see, Amu! Thanks for the good tip!

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 25, 2008 | Reply

  19. There is no important differences between Sunni and shia mosques. But Shia mosques have often a clock to symbolize the wait of the twelth Imam who is supposed to come and also exctracts of the Quran outside which is very rare on Sunni mosques. The most beautiful mosques, for me, are in Irans, they are incredible and exceptionnally decorated even though I’m Sunni. In Irans there are more than 80 000 religious places, it can be mosques or imamzadehs. The Sunni mosques are more simple than Shia’s. To be sure at 100 per cent to know if it is a Shia or Sunni mosque you just have to listen the calls prayer, they are different because Shiites make reference to Ali whereas the Sunni do not. The second picture is beautiful !! I’m from Paris, France, happy to fall on this site !

    Comment by Mehdi | August 12, 2009 | Reply

  20. Mehdi, ahlen wa sahlen to HT&E. Save your money, and visit Doha in January or February, or even March, and visit the Museum of Islamic Art. Or make it a joint trip – Oman, Doha, Kuwait, and you will see an amazing variety of wonderful and artistic museums, architecture and design. :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 12, 2009 | Reply

  21. what is a shiite mosque

    Comment by hdnjgsdj | November 2, 2010 | Reply

    • A Shiite mosque is a mosque attended by Shiite Moslems. A Shiite mosque is often more ornate than a Sunni mosque, and it often has a green roof.

      Comment by intlxpatr | November 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers

