Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Raising Blog Interest

I like WordPress – even if things go wrong from time to time, it is because they are trying something new. They work out the bugs, they move forward.

In an announcement today, called Possibly an Announcement they talk about putting some references at the bottom of each post which, if you liked this post, will take you to other blogs with posts on similar subjects.

I don’t know how this will work, but I like it that they are coming up with new ways to increase blog traffic, and to allow readers to follow a theme. You can read the entire announcement by clicking on the blue type, above.

Blog posts can be a total tease. You get to the end and you’re ready for more, but all that’s there is maybe some post navigation, and if you’re lucky a few comments. If your appetite was whetted by the awesome post you just read there’s no place for you to go, except maybe to a search engine to look for terms around what you just read.

Post or permalink pages probably account for about half of the pageviews on your blog.

One of my favorite things about Youtube is that you can start with a single video and then see something else interesting in the related videos and you lose yourself and next thing you know it’s four in the morning and you’re watching disco pilates videos. My fancy term for this is lateral navigation. (Which the rest of the world seems to think has something to do with flying.)

Well now you can have that same experience across WordPress.com.

In a feature we’re calling possibly related posts we’ll now try to show posts related to yours a little section at the end. If we find any posts on your blog that are related, we’ll put those at the very top and in bold. Next we’ll show other posts from around WordPress.com, and finally we’ll check if there’s anything in the mainstream media.

The result is a handful of links that should provide you and your visitors something interesting to check out. On blogs that cover the same topics frequently related posts could cause a 5-10% increase in traffic overnight. You could also start to see traffic from lots of other blogs. It’s a bit of an experiment, and we’ll be tweaking it a lot based on your feedback and the data that we collect once everything is live.

April 26, 2008 - Posted by | Blogging, Experiment, Tools, WordPress

17 Comments »

  1. hmm… dunno if I’ll make use of that feature, but we’ll see.

    Comment by 3baid | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. WordPress always disagrees with me… I am still trying to tame it.

    Comment by Disturbed Stranger | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  3. 3baid – On WordPress, it just happens. It’s not like you have a choice. When someone clicks coments, Possibly Related Posts comes up at the bottom.

    Disturbed – This is going to help bring new people to your blog who have interests in common, or so is the hope according to Matt at WordPress. :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  4. 3baid – On WordPress, it just happens. It’s not like you have a choice. When someone clicks coments, Possibly Related Posts comes up at the bottom.

    Disturbed – This is going to help bring new people to your blog who have interests in common, or so is the hope according to Matt at WordPress. :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  5. You can turn it off. Go to Design, then Extras :)

    Comment by 3baid | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  6. Oh yeah I read the announcement and I think it’s brilliant. However, I still don’t see the suggested links on my posts even though my blog is in English.

    Off-topic: I’m pretty sure you’ll love this VIDEO. It’s a 13 year British boy singing Pie Jesu (Sweet Jesus) in Britains Got Talent. The verses are the final couplets of the latin poem Dies Irae by Thomas of Celano. I hope it makes your day more spiritual :)

    Comment by Angelo | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  7. Oh 3baid. It’s that easy? I am SO embarrassed.

    But for now, I am going to leave it on. Some people like to hop from blog to blog.

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  8. Oh, Angelo. Oh! Oh! Oh! I got goosebumps! That was amazing! What an extraordinary young man, and holy smokes, what a voice, and perfect song to show it off. WOW. Thank you, thank you, and go off topic any old time with that kind of contribution. WOW.

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  9. I have always liked wordpress but now I find it hard to move there…I feel as if I am attached to blogspot!

    Comment by Amu | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  10. It’s becoming very tempting to move completely to wordpress, since i already have a clone of Mirror Polisher over there.

    Even writing a post is A LOT easier in wordpress. The only thing holding me back is that i can’t change my template (edit the html code)

    Go wordpress :D…always like seeing new features in applications

    Comment by magicaldroplets | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  11. ooppps didn’t know i was logged on wordpress :P

    Comment by Mirror Polisher | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  12. This could be very interesting! As long as they manage to match the content of the related posts correctly! :)

    Comment by N. | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  13. Totally off topic, but I used to live in Kuwait and listened to 99.7 at weekends … well, one great show at night …DJ Maha …Is that still on? Would like to tune in via the net. Thanks :D

    Comment by Mailman | April 27, 2008 | Reply

  14. Thanks 3baid, for instruction on how to turn it off! I thought it was a good idea at first, but when tracking to some of the allegedly ‘related’ stories, I found them oddly having little or nothing to do with my posts!
    But, such is wordpress… no doubt about it!

    Comment by Lofter | April 27, 2008 | Reply

  15. I totally understand, Amu. There are brave souls who hop around, but I am not ready to buy into going through that whole process again. Like Magical/Mirror I would love to fiddle with the templates a little, but every time I look at the options, this is still my favorite. (Booooooooorrrring!)

    Heeee Heeee, Mirror Polisher!

    N. – Yeh, matching content seems to be a problem. It’s like the search terms people use to find your blog – it’s very humbling, how off they are!

    Mailman – I used to listen to 99.7 but they played exactly the same music in exactly the same order every single day, and I got so BORED and annoyed I stopped. Now I listen to BBC.

    3baid – I’m going to leave it on a little longer, but it seems to me that most of what WP thinks is related is not related at all!

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 27, 2008 | Reply

  16. OK… I left it on for three days, and my spam more than doubled! So, off it goes! Please let me know if any of you are having the same reaction.

    Comment by Lofter | April 29, 2008 | Reply

  17. I get maybe two spam a day with WP – they block all the really bad stuff, now!

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers

