Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Qatteri Cat’s Great Adventure

This morning, as AdventureMan left for work, I was busy reading incoming e-mails and didn’t jump up immediately to lock the door behind him. The Qatteri Cat, as usual, was crying – he hates it when “The Fun Guy” leaves, and he got his baby and cried by the door for a while. Then – I heard a dreaded sound.

We hear it sometimes during the night. The Qatteri Cat is one smart cat – he has learned how to jump up high enough to hit the door handle on his way down, and his weight is enough to open the door. He jumped. I’m up and running, but it is too late, the door is open and the Qatteri Cat is out.

Other people with long-haired cats will know what I am talking about here – you don’t get dressed until you are just ready to leave, and you keep your clothes in closets that stay shut, so you don’t have long cat hair clinging to you as you go about your daily errands. So as I run to the door, I am rapidly calculating whether I can run outside and round up the Qatteri Cat, or whether I have to get dressed first.

It is still early. My Kuwaiti neighbor probably isn’t up, and if his maid sees me, I can claim she was delusional, that I would never be outside in my nightgown. If I get dressed first, the Qatteri Cat could disappear! So out I run, chasing the Qatteri Cat who thinks this is one GREAT game, Mom chasing him. He is making that little “Eh eh eh eh eh eh eh eh” sound that cats make when they see birds, or something else irresistable.

I chase him and cut him off, forcing him in a circle and back to the door. He resists, but he also knows when I am serious, I am SERIOUS (it has to do with cat “time-outs” in a room with just his food and litter box, and short term withdrawal of affection) so he reluctantly complies.

Now, he is sulking. He has his baby. He isn’t crying, he has ME in time-out, he has withdrawn his affection, I spoiled his fun. Even though the door is now locked, he tries every now and then, remembering there was a time when it opened.

April 28, 2008 - Posted by | Adventure, Cross Cultural, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Pets, Relationships

6 Comments »

  1. Even if the door was open, cats usually don’t venture out much untill they get used to it.

    Comment by 3baid | April 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. oh 3baid, you don’t know the Qatteri Cat. He was OUT in a flash! He runs like crazy!

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. I hope it’s not because he’s being mistreated! :P

    Comment by 3baid | April 29, 2008 | Reply

  4. You DARE! You DARE to say a thing like that about the most spoiled cat in the universe! He is NEVER mistreated.

    He is a CAT. He is a MALE CAT. Male cats cat around. He used to be wild – once wild, they never forget. They always have those instincts.

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 29, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hahah! XD

    Comment by 3baid | April 30, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hahahahahahahahahahahah

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 474 other followers

