Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Rain!

I woke up this morning to a cloudy, rainy day – YAAAAAYYYYYYYYYY!

I am sure the good people in Seattle will consider me a total nut case, but when I check the Kuwait forecast and see it is 104° F / 42° C in Kuwait, and only 52° F / 11° C in Seattle, I dance for joy! Today I get to wear a light sweater! Or maybe a hoodie! Or . . . maybe both! I don’t think I will be sweating! The drips on my cheek will be raindrops!

Rain is what makes Seattle so green and luscious. Rain makes the flowers bloom so exuberantly. And today, if I make good headway on my list, today I might let myself go to Lowe’s and/or Home Depot! Oh, I can hardly wait!

May 20, 2008 Posted by | Beauty, Community, Cross Cultural, ExPat Life, Living Conditions, Seattle, Shopping, Weather | 9 Comments

Upholstery Class

About ten years ago, I was in school and didn’t like what I was studying very much, so I took a class in upholstering furniture. I loved it.

First you take the old furniture and your have to undo all the nails and take all the worn and dirty upholstery off, until you get the furniture down to the bones. Trust me, it is very hard work, and it is dirty. You can work at it all day, and your muscles ache at the end of the day.

If there are exposed wood surfaces, you have to strip them and sand them down and refinish them. That is very painstaking work. Then you have to re-foam and re-pad the seating and back surfaces. Finally, at the very last – you get to put on the new fabric.

Why am I telling you all this? Because that new fabric makes all the difference. I saw some new fabric today, and I have nothing to re-upholster. I love this fabric! I could see it on dining room chairs, I could see it on a sleek couch in my bedroom! It is so bright, so cheerful, so upbeat!

I am not sure AdventureMan would like that fabric at all. It’s probably a good thing I didn’t buy that fabric!

May 20, 2008 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, ExPat Life, Experiment, Family Issues, Kuwait, Living Conditions | 7 Comments

10,000 Steps Continued

As you know, I began an exercise program a few weeks ago called 10,000 Steps – you can find out more about it here: 10,000 Steps. I don’t have very good luck with gyms . . . it’s just a waste of money for me; I sign up all enthusiastic, and by the second day at the gym I am already trying to find ways to get out of it. I get bored. Exercise is BORING!

But I love walking. Actually I love water aerobics, too, when there aren’t a bunch of googly-eyed guys watching, and when I have a gaggle of girlfriends to laugh and pass the time with while we exercise and I just don’t have that opportunity in Kuwait.

So I got sick and tired of myself NOT exercising and decided to work on 10,000 steps. I’ve been doing pretty well, too, worked up to running 6,000 steps before I left, and it only takes me about 35 minutes.

The other day I bought a pedometer. Today I put it on for the first time.

You have to understand, when I come back to Seattle, I have THE LIST with me. The list is all the things that are hard to get or impossible to get in Kuwait, or just annoying to have to track down. Occasionally, like this time, I also have things to get for friends. . . just a little thing here and there, but it all goes on THE LIST.

Around noon I called my Mom and said I would be by in about an hour with lunch. When I got there, I remembered I had my pedometer on, and I checked it – I was already at 9,081 steps! By the time I got back to my hotel, it had started over.

I love it. I am tired at the end of each day from running around, my legs even ache and my feet hurt and I love it. Even the hot days – there were two of them, and now it is cloudy and it is going to rain and they just don’t get it at all that I LOVE the rain – the hot days weren’t that bad.

I am going to be in PAIN when I get back to Kuwait and face days of 115°F again! It is 70°F / 21° C in Seattle today.

May 20, 2008 Posted by | Exercise, ExPat Life, Experiment, Family Issues, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Seattle, Shopping, Statistics, Travel, Weather | Leave a comment

Fuschia Morning

It doesn’t take much. When Yousef at Some Contrast asked for more fuschia photos . . . honestly, it was just the excuse I needed.

Fuschias are Sooooo luxurious. They come is so many gorgeous color combinations, and the stores get them in just in time for American Mother’s Day, usually around May 9 -10-11-12. You can actually grow fuschias in the ground here, in the right micro-climate (see, I am sounding like a Master Gardener now, aren’t I – and no, no, I am not) but once the weather gets too hot, they stop blooming. They are just made for the Pacific Northwest.

So Yousef, here are all kinds of fuschias for you, and then, at the very end, your other favorite – I found some lucious shades of tulips for you, too. Thank you for giving me the inspiration. :-)

I’m sorry this one is fuzzy, but I included it so you could see the color – it is just yummy.

Three fuschia trees:

May 20, 2008 Posted by | Adventure, Beauty, Entertainment, ExPat Life, Living Conditions, Seattle, Shopping | , | 5 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 447 other followers