Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Beating Jet Lag: Don’t Eat

Just in time – well, actually, not just in time or I wouldn’t have eaten – a new study reported on BBC Health News finds that if you want to re-set your body clock, fast. If you fast for 16 hours – like no eating en route from the USA to Kuwait – it helps you adjust faster and minimizes the effects of jet lag.

They seem to find something new every year, and then another study comes along and fails to confirm the findings. I do my best, but it usually takes me a week to get back to sleeping during normal hours.

May 29, 2008 - Posted by | ExPat Life, Family Issues, Health Issues, Kuwait, Living Conditions, News, Travel

2 Comments »

  1. Hmmm, it claims that it will make the symptoms more manageable. I think it is very relative. I have a long haul flight coming up and I will try it. The weird thing that it did not say anything about drinking.
    The thing is, they did not address one thing: if your flight is early in the morning, meaning you were asleep for 6-8 hrs fasting. Then you get up and catch your flight and not eat for another 16 hours. That is about 24 hours of fasting.
    I think it is very unhealthy…

    Comment by Babbler | May 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Babbler, let us know how it works for you. I am thinking there are many factors involved with jet lag, and food is one of them. My husband and I notice we do better if we get some sleep on our long flights, but other people say just the opposite, that it works better to stay awake the whole time. It was already too late for me by the time I read it, I was here!

    Comment by intlxpatr | May 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers

