Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

The Morning Test

Back in May, I published an e-mail I had received about The Law of the Garbage Truck. It turns out, as I learned from a comment yesterday, that it is taken from a book by David J. Pollay who has his own blog at Typepad. No, he didn’t write me a nasty e-mail; I only learned the source from a very nice comment on the original post by a co-worker.

I was intrigued, so I checked out his blog. And found his entry for today has to do with The Morning Test.

Here’s how The Morning Test works. Every day for one week write down everything that you do at night. Jot down what you eat for snacks, the TV shows you watch, the radio programs you listen to, the email you read, the sites you surf, and whatever else you may do.

This is just a snippet from what he writes, so I urge you to read his entry for today to understand fully how it works.

The reason I like it is because it ties so closely with the Garbage Truck entry – how we SPEND our time, what we DO every day with our lives truly determines who we are more than our intentions (although the intentions of our heart are important, too). I believe in the old computer adage: Garbage In, Garbage Out.

I am reluctant to take the Morning Test because I know I would have to face where I waste the most time, and where I seriously need improvement. I know I would be aghast at how much time I spend on the computer, just wandering around. There are other areas where I read books that are not enriching, watch brainless TV shows, participate in low level conversations . . . there are so many areas in my life where I fail to live up to the person I was created to be, and I know it.

And I really admire this man for putting the test out there and making us examine who we are and what we want for ourselves and our lives.

June 3, 2008 Posted by | Blogging, Books, Character, Community, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Living Conditions | 3 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers