Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Sunset August 6, 2008, Oregon

I meant to post this one with the others and I forgot.

August 6, 2008 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, ExPat Life, Living Conditions, Lumix, Photos | , | 6 Comments

Photo Nuts

My two sisters and I all have the same camera, and my niece, and my son and his wife, so we all share information. Like on our trip, EnviroGirl explained that if you made the picture size smaller, it extends the optical zoom, so if you don’t need a really vast photo, you can focus on something and get this huge telephoto. I had no idea until she explained it. Like yes, it is in the book, and I even read the book, but there is SO MUCH in the book.

My sister Sparkle told us about using a feature called Fireworks. She tried it for fireworks – it works! It also works on moon shots, although there is another feature called Starry Nights for that.

One thing totally cracks me up. There used to be a Simple Mode indicated with a heart, it was simple and automatic, and no one liked to use it. The newer models have something called Intelligent Automatic, and we all use that mode because it gets the best photos. We would never dream of using something called “simple” but “intelligent!” That’s very different!

Mariner Man, Sparkle’s husband, doesn’t use the same camera but he showed us a new technique he says is working for him, getting interesting and new photos: put your camera really near the ground or on the ground.

Sand Castle

Sand Castle

Good tip, Mariner Man!

So I’m kind of waiting for sunset, and photo ops just keep happening. There are wonderful kids flying kites, and I wait, and I get the shot I want – what joy!

And then, as the sun continues setting, along come a couple surfers.

This isn’t such a great shot, but it is the only shot I got of one of them up on his board. He wasn’t up for very long.

This hasn’t happened to me for a long time – my memory card is full. I have to quickly go through and delete anything excessive to have room for the sunset. And then – the sun goes into a fog bank. I had thought it would shine through, but no – the fog EATS the sun! And, just at that moment, the surfers decide to go home and I get my last shot:

August 6, 2008 Posted by | Adventure, Arts & Handicrafts, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Living Conditions, Lumix, Photos, Relationships, Technical Issue, Tools | , | 7 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 482 other followers