Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Reflecting Al Kout

AdventureMan is so patient with me.

“Just one minute!” I say to him while he is starving, and I am busy with a photo I can’t resist.

He never grumbles. He just patiently waits while I shoot away.

Last night at the Al Kout Mall was just such a night – when we got there (and got a perfect parking place because YOU were still breaking your fast with family and friends) the fountains were not on, and the pool was a perfect Taj Mahal like mirror for reflecting the Al Kout lights.

“Just a minute!” as I shot from one angle.

“Oh, just one more!” as I see it again, from another.

Same camera. Same settings. Different angle – so why is one so much more golden than the other, which is more sparkly white?

Which to you prefer?

I would feel a whole lot better about my skills as a photographer if I knew how to reproduce the results I get, if I understood better how I got the shot I did. As it is, most of my best photos are the result of being in the right place at the right time with a camera. I hate to say it about myself, but it is a result of being prepared and dumb luck. I give myself full credit for having a camera with me when a shot appears, but making it that perfect shot? I need to learn more.

September 27, 2008 - Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Random Musings, Technical Issue, Tools

8 Comments »

  1. very nice shots.

    youve got your camera on auto dont you?

    thats the only reason i can think of which would give you different results as the camera will calculate new settings for different angles as the light it measures changes from one angle to another.

    i’m hardly a camera expert but try switching it to manual and i’m sure you’ll have loads of fun since you can play with the exposure and white balance, etc.

    i’m just starting to get into photography and video and the best thing i’ve read so far is that theyre both ” painting with light”,.. which i quite liked :P

    Comment by sknkwrkz | September 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. I like both, the second one more…
    I was gonna get shot last night because I wouldnt let anyone in the dining area before I finish snapping away pics of the dinner (which I will be posting soon) hehehehehe. I dont like the outcome THAT much but its not bad for being under pressure. Will wait for your feedback when I post them

    Comment by Ansam | September 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. The first one is warmer so I prefer it.
    Great reflection – a wonderful catch.

    Comment by Bu Yousef | September 27, 2008 | Reply

  4. great shots xpat :)
    as sknkwrkz said you had your camera on auto and thats why it made different calibrations of the white balance for both shots .. in the second shot your camera took into consideration the incandesant lights so it appeared “whiter” than the first shot.
    i liked the first one more, like bu yousef said its warmer than the second shot. but the second one actually was better quality ..

    Comment by Abdulaziz | September 28, 2008 | Reply

  5. oooo nice pictures you got here!

    They’re both good but i like the second one more. I put the camera to auto most of the time and I just do my best to keep my hand steady when it’s dark outside. Sometimes you think a pic will turn out great and it doesn’t! I can never be sure.. I just steady my hands and take as much shots as I can, and one of them will surely turn out as expected. :)

    Comment by Yousef | September 28, 2008 | Reply

  6. You are right, Skunk, I had it on auto. Most of the time, when I am shooting, I don’t have the time to set up a shot. I do have manual, and can play with the aperature and speed, even the ISO. Occasionally, I have that luxury!

    I am eager to see your photos, Ansam! I bet it was a delicious and fun evening.

    An hour later, Bu Yousef, there were mosquitos, and the pool had tiny pit things in the water, no longer that reflection.

    Thank you, AbdulAziz, and yes, the incandescent lights would explain the whiteness. I had to go back and look again at the photos, and then I could see what you were saying about the quality. The second one is more clear.

    Thank you, Yousef! Actually, I bought a Gorilla Pod this summer, a very flexible little tripod, but no matter how small it is, I rarely have it with me when it would be handy, and end up trying to lean on something and not breathe to get a night shot.

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 28, 2008 | Reply

  7. try to use Tv and go with slower speed.. but you need a tripod.. or try the slowest the camera can handle without a tripod, it should tell you..

    I know I do have a tripod but i almost never take it out with me.. i guess most of our shots are spontaniously taken as we shop or walk around.. some people go to places with what they want to do in mind.. and have the times to do it so they take their things with them… I would love to do that one day..

    Comment by ::: ShoSho ::: | September 28, 2008 | Reply

  8. Me, too, ShoSho. My husband is better at that than I am – more patient, willing to spend a lot of time setting up one perfect shot, while I am snapping away, hoping something will turn out well. I don’t understand the “try to use a Tv” part of what you said. Slower speed I understand.

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 445 other followers

