Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Slaughter of the Innocents

600px-matteo_di_giovanni_002

In our Lectionary readings for today we pray for the Innocents, slaughtered by King Herod, in the land that is now Israel.

PRAYER (traditional language)
We remember this day, O God, the slaughter of the holy innocents of Bethlehem by the order of King Herod. Receive, we beseech thee, into the arms of thy mercy all innocent victims; and by thy great might frustrate the designs of evil tyrants and establish thy rule of justice, love, and peace; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who liveth and reigneth with thee and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever.

There is nothing so maddening as to be helpless to intervene in the huge crush of political events among nations. On the other hand, we have been given this very powerful weapon – prayer – and the knowledge that God can do anything, and that he listens to our prayers, especially prayers for the weak, the helpless, women and children.

We can also raise our voices where it counts – to our governments – to say “this is wrong” and “this must be stopped.”

This is wrong. This must be stopped.

It is neither good nor right for bullies to impose their will on those with less power, just because they can. (That applies also to my own country.) It is not good for the victims – but it is also not good for the health of the bully! Countries where minority rights are not considered find themselves weakened from internal disorders, like a body eaten with cancer. If minorities can be likened to bacteria – a little bacterial makes us healthier and stronger. Tolerance of diversity makes us as nations healthier and stronger.

Don’t you wonder what might be accomplished if the Palestinians and Israelis could find some way to live together in peace?

December 29, 2008 Posted by | Communication, Community, Cross Cultural, Cultural, Dharfur, Interconnected, Living Conditions, Spiritual | , , , | 3 Comments

Wikipedia Donate Button

Today I added (not very elegantly, I will have to fix this somehow) a new widget on my site. I find myself using Wikipedia almost as often as I use Google, and I love the entire concept – gathering what we know and sharing it with one another.

Today, I made my donation. It’s the least I can do. I access them almost daily, and I often use them to help me write my posts.

If you use Wikipedia, perhaps you will also consider making a donation. If you have a credit card, it couldn’t be easier.

Wikipedia Affiliate Button

December 29, 2008 Posted by | Fund Raising, Interconnected | 5 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers