Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

The Upside Down Day

Yesterday was a totally upside down day, where I never really knew what to expect. First, my husband was already up when I woke up, and when he heard me stirring, came into the bedroom with his great big smile and shining eyes and said “Let’s go to the Early Bird for breakfast!”

I laughed, and dropped my morning routine and plans to enjoy this delightful surprise. Quickly dressed, we were out the door well before seven, even well before sunrise. As we drove into Fehaheel, I managed to catch the sunrise, although I didn’t see it until this morning when I finally had time to sit down and organize myself. This is for you, Daggero, yesterday’s icy morning sunrise!

00sunrise3jan09

Believe me, that shot is a surprise – we were at a stoplight, briefly, and I shot it through the window, not the ideal way to shoot a sunrise. Lucky shot, beautiful day.

The Early Bird was closed! Closed through today! What to do!? AdventureMan remembered seeing a small place deep in the heart of Fehaheel, and we’re in Fehaheel, it is not yet seven ayem and the streets are empty. We drove to the “Arabic Early Bird” and miracle of miracle, on a street that teems with traffic day and night, at 0h-dark-thirty in the morning, it is open and there is a beautiful parking spot, a LEGAL spot, available. We take this as a sign that we are meant to have breakfast there.

00arabicearlybird

Indeed, the cook is ready, and already has betinjan (eggplant) and felafel all fried up for us – YUM!

00earlybirdcook

The waiter brings us all kinds of goodies, most of which are totally delicious. This is my first time eating tomato scrambled eggs, which Mishary wrote about in Some Contrast sorry I can’t find the original article, but he shows you how to cook them. I think he used 12 eggs! Some of the pickles are strange to our taste, but the food is hot and fresh and delicious, and washed down with hot tea.

00earlybirdserver

00eggplantandfelafel

00eggs

00hotbread

00hummos

More food that we could eat! When we got the bill, it was KD 1.750. What luxury! :-) What a great way to start the day, in every way not what we expected.

January 4, 2009 Posted by | Adventure, Community, Cooking, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Food, Friends & Friendship, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Marriage, Relationships, sunrise series, Weather | 13 Comments

New Year Takes the Jackpot!

Oh my lucky stars! I don’t even remember writing the referenced e-mail! I never buy lottery tickets, or enter those contests. What a way to start the New Year, hmmm?

Right now I am so busy with all the details in my life that I don’t have the time to claim my prize. What a pity. ;-)

Your Email Won The Prize
The Spanish Hotball Lotto
REFERENCE #:87/825/TRH
BATCH #: MEG-749-873-439

Sir/Madam,
Being officially assigned to select winners across the globe, the
management is pleased to inform you of the result of the Hot Lotto Spanish
Lottery Winners International E-mail programs held on the 22nd December,2008
and result was released on the 31th December,2008. Your E-mail address
attached to ticket number 653-908-321-675 with serial main number
528-127-196 drew lucky star numbers 25-78-54-36-49 which consequently won
in the 2nd category, you have therefore been approved for a lump sum pay
out of EUR1.500.000.00 Euros, with REFERENCE No.:87/825/TRH and BATCH #:
MEG-749-873-439.

Due to mix up of some numbers and names, we ask that you keep your winning
information confidential until your claims have been processed and your
money remitted to you. This is part of our security protocol to avoid
double claiming and unwarranted abuse of this program by some
participants. All participants were selected through a computer ballot
system drawn from over 100,000 company and 50,000,000 individual email
addresses and names from all over the world.

This lottery was promoted and sponsored by Software companies in order to
enhance and promote the use of Internet Explorer Users and Microsoft-wares around theglobe.
To file for your claim, please contact our foreign service manager:
Mr Alex Hugo
email:alexhu.hugo60@gmail.com
Tel:34 657 548 514
Foreign Service Manager
Congratulations for
being part of our
promotional program.
Sincerely,
Carmen Rodriguez
International Online Co-ordinator

January 4, 2009 Posted by | Crime, ExPat Life, Financial Issues, Lies | Leave a comment

Cold, So Cold in Kuwait

Last night, in the middle of the night, even my normal blanket and the Qatteri Cat weren’t enough. I was COLD. It seeped right through the blankets and into my hips. I was too sleepy to get up, and shifted position, trying to find a warm place, but finally, I had to give up and go get another blanket.

“Do you need some more blanket?” I asked AdventureMan, but he said no, he was fine. I covered up the Qatteri Cat entirely, and in moments was warm and toasty and drifting back into sleep.

A couple hours later I feel a nudge and a cold leg drifting up next to me, and AdventureMan whispers “I’m cold!”

I tell him to snuggle up, but then he says he is still cold and I remind him there is another blanket on the end of the bed, and he, too, covers up and is quickly back to sleep.

When I got up this morning, it was cold, so cold I have to wear slippers on the cold marble tiles, and a shawl against the chill. Even hot coffee isn’t enough; soon I have to head for the shower, a nice HOT shower.

Weather Underground says it is -1°C in Kuwait. I believe it. I believe with the wind chill, it feels even colder.

wthr4jan09

And, Daggero, just for you, that icy-cold sunrise you asked about yesterday (although check later today, to my surprise, I do have a sunrise from yesterday!)

00sunrise4jan09

Not a cloud in sight. Only that pollution laying out there on the horizon. I can only imagine the chaos snow would dump on the Kuwait traffic. It would be utter bedlam.

Bundle up, Kuwait! It is COLD out there!

January 4, 2009 Posted by | Community, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, sunrise series, Weather | 10 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers