Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Rare Occurrence

Yesterday morning, on the way to the airport, I was taking a different route, a more travelled route, but early in the morning, so early, most of the routes are more lightly travelled.

There were none of the weaving wonders I normally experience.

I experienced a new phenomenon, very very slow drivers.

I don’t know why there were so many people driving really really slow on fast roads. They were all in the very far right lane. I wondered if they were falling asleep, they were so slow. And then I remembered . . . when I first came to Kuwait, the traffic terrified me. I would get up very very early and go out and drive, to try to learn the roads, but I always stayed in the right lane, and I was going pretty slow.

I don’t know if they were new drivers – there were a lot of slow drivers on the road. Maybe they were sleepy, or incapacitated in some other way. Or maybe they were new, terrified drivers like I used to be.

January 27, 2009 Posted by | ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Random Musings | | 9 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 443 other followers