Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Seattle-like Sunrise

Good morning, Kuwait!

00sunrise10mar09

(How many different blues can you count in this photo? This is a RICH photo in the blue-grey spectrum, one of my favorites.)

When I saw the skies this morning, all cloudy and gloomy, I thought for a minute I was back in Seattle. If I were in Seattle, the temperatures would be much much lower – it is already getting hot in Kuwait, and this Friday we will hit a huge high:

00kuwaitwea10mar09

But something is goofy with Zanzibar, on my WeatherUnderground favorites:
00zanzibarwea10mar09

How can that be right? Highs almost in the 90’s, lows almost freezing?

It just might rain a little out there, my Kuwait friends. Be careful on the roads and remember:

Don’t Call Until You Reach Your Destination!

March 10, 2009 - Posted by | Africa, Beauty, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Satire, Social Issues, sunrise series, Weather, Zanzibar

8 Comments »

  1. intlxpatr

    Goooooooooooooooood mornin’

    about the huge temperature difference ,there is an old Arab proverb that goes like this
    نهار الصعلوك وليل الملوك

    nahar el sahlook wa layl el molook

    The day of a vagabond and the Night of kings

    Meaning

    Hardship in the day and pleasantness in the night

    So you learn a new word today Sohlook (silent H = ء hamza )

    the word sohlook is funny in Arabic and not used because it is very classic Arabic

    Comment by daggero | March 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. LOL, and thank you, Daggero. :-) When we first came to the countries of the Middle East, my husband spoke mostly classical Arabic, and people’s eyes would go big and round when he would talk. Later, we learned, it was as if in America we would begin our sentences with “Lo! Verily I say unto you . . . ” LOL!

    I love the saying. Thank you.

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. Beautiful picture, I love the shades of blue :)

    Comment by noura | March 10, 2009 | Reply

  4. I went out at 9:30 and had blue skies and sun. By the time I came out again at 10:30 we were in the middle of a sanstorm and it was spitting. Very strange

    Comment by Q8Dutchie | March 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. so long Seattle :D

    Comment by Deema | March 10, 2009 | Reply

  6. Daggero – sahlouk / sohlook = vagabond? Ana sahlouka? Does the saluki dog get it’s name from this word?

    Noura – Music to my ears. I love those colors, too! :-)

    Q8Dutchie – My car looks like I drove through a sandpit! It was raining dust!

    Deema – LLOOLLLL!

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 10, 2009 | Reply

  7. intlxpatr ;

    good mornin’

    Ana Sohlooka is correct way a female vagabond addresses her self. Now you may address your close female friends jokingly with enti sohlooka or Ya Sohlooka when they do something mischievous

    The slouki dog name is Arabic same pronunciation but not from the same root as shlook .

    One quick question , are you still calling the police station in your area and speaking to them in Arabic :)

    Comment by daggero | March 11, 2009 | Reply

  8. LLOOLLL, Daggero, so vagabond has a mischievous connotation? I had no idea! Ana Sohlooka!

    I keep your instructions handy, and practice them often, but (by the grace of God) have not had to call the police recently.

    BTW, when I have spoken Arabic to the police in previous times, they find it hilarious. Instead of listening to what I am telling them (Come! Quick!) they call all their friends to listen to me talk. It’s like I am prime-time entertainment.

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 447 other followers

