Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Busted

Today, as I was getting ready to leave the church services, one of my very special friends hugged me and said farewell, and then said “But of course, I can keep up with you on your blog.”

It was as if time stopped for a second, then started up again.

“My blog? You read my blog? You know?” I stammered, not loudly because there were other people around.

She laughed.

“I figured it out when you described this guy,” she said, punching AdventureMan lightly on the shoulder. “I KNEW it was you.”

When we got into the car, AdventureMan had a big smug grin on his face.

“I almost told her I read your blog quickly first, to see if I’m in it,” he said, “but then I was embarrassed that I am so vain.”

LLLOOOLLLL!

I’ve gotten less careful. It’s becoming less and less relevant as I get closer to leaving.

May 29, 2009 - Posted by | Adventure, Blogging, Community, ExPat Life, Friends & Friendship, Kuwait, Privacy, Relationships

11 Comments »

  1. LooooL busted ;)

    I wonder how many people know the real me without me knowing that they know about me? A thought to contempulate really…

    Comment by Daddy's Girl | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. Be careful, she might be am agent for the evil company…

    Y’know, to track your blog and keep on digging it for any useful data the evil company might be interested in :P

    Comment by Q8GEEK | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. You had me in giggles here :D

    Comment by Nicole | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. Blogs lay simple, its kind of a world with in a world, on my blog I speak with out shadow, as me. I read blogs and learn people, in ways that if they sat next to me I would never know. For long I have said its sad that I can read the words of so many, yet if they sat next to me in a bar, cafe, any place not even a “hello” would we exchange…. some how we forget the whole meaning of life…of each other of who and what we are, that saddens me a lot, though I have spent the whole of my life in the shadows, a blip on life that should never have been…..it still makes me sad…isolated worlds …. isolated people….

    Comment by Duma Key | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. LLOOLL, Geek. If she is evil company, than so am I! :-)

    Oh Nicole, I am delighted to give you a giggle. :-)

    Duma Key, at the very least, we can intersect through the blogs. It makes life just a little less lonely, doesn’t it? Your words made me think of how often, on long flights, we go the entire flight sitting next to one another and not exchanging more than a word, other than “excuse me” as you crawl over to to to the toilet. My thought, for what it’s worth – if you are here, then you were meant to be. There is a purpose. You will find it, if you keep looking.

    Comment by intlxpatr | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  6. LOL, Daddy’s Girl, I don’t know why you keep going to Spam, and I have to pull you out!

    You have some commenters that I get the impression know you in real life from their comments, and they all seem to adore you. :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  7. It’s a small world… and getting smaller

    Comment by Disturbed Stranger | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  8. Holy smokes, Disturbed – you know me, too???

    Comment by intlxpatr | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  9. U know i have been suspecting i was going straight to spam cause it seems to be that either all bloggers decided on a pact to ignore me or that something was happening to my comments…

    those commenters u have noticed are the reason that im a blogger… so they better adore me and comment ;) they have been nagging for ever to get my writings out…

    but other than them? I wonder who knows about me yet still decided to stick around :D

    Comment by Daddy's Girl | May 31, 2009 | Reply

  10. Daddy’s Girl, don’t you have StatCounter? It shows you not only how many visitors you have, but where they are from and how often they visit. It is fascinating. You would be surprised how many readers you have. :-) About the spam – I am betting you changed computers recently. Sometimes you go to spam and sometimes you don’t. Or maybe you are using an iPhone, or Blackberry to post?

    Comment by intlxpatr | May 31, 2009 | Reply

  11. Well, on a brighter note the fact that she reads your blog possibly means she comments every now and then and perhaps has one herself you can get a hold of? Haha :)

    Comment by sp4rkster | June 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 460 other followers

