Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

KLM Customer Service – I’m Impressed

There are days when my phone doesn’t ring at all. I’m not a big phone person, sometimes my friends are out of town, there can be a hundred reasons my phone doesn’t ring including the fact that not a lot of people have my phone number.

So when my phone rang this afternoon, I was surprised, but a few people know I am back in town and I wondered who it could be.

KLM said the little phone screen. KLM calling me? Did I lose something and I don’t even know it?

“This is Mr. SoAndSo with KLM Customer Service, we are calling to ask how was your flight?”

(HOLY SMOKES!)

He also asked if I had any criticisms or suggestions. . . Soliciting customer feedback . . . amazing.

Actually, the KLM part of the flight was magnificent. I got on the plane and slept almost all the way to Qatar, I was so exhausted. I don’t even remember anything, but I was really really really glad no one woke me to ask if I wanted a meal or anything. For me, that is a really good flight.

I am still so blown away that they called and asked.

September 17, 2009 - Posted by | Bureaucracy, Customer Service, Doha, ExPat Life, KLM, Qatar

7 Comments »

  1. nice… I wish more airlines could do that…

    Comment by Amu | September 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. It was a huge surprise, Amu! I wish more airlines made you feel like they really are glad you are their customer, instead of treating them like cattle.

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 17, 2009 | Reply

  3. [...] Go here to read the rest: KLM Customer Service – I'm Impressed « Here There and Everywhere [...]

    Pingback by KLM Customer Service – I'm Impressed « Here There and Everywhere | Money Blog : 10 Dollars : Money Articles. | September 17, 2009 | Reply

  4. It’s one thing collecting data and another thing doing something with it. Though in the case of KLM I’m sure they would use any criticism to fix ‘common themes’.

    Welcome home.

    Comment by Bu Yousef | September 18, 2009 | Reply

  5. Thanks, Bu Yousef. :-) I found myself in the muggy heat of Pensacola missing the dry heat of Kuwait and Qatar.

    Even if KLM were to make no use of the data at all, it is an excellent ploy for giving the appearance of caring to the customer, and increasing the probability that they will choose KLM the next time. (Yes, I can be a little cynical.) I think it is great marketing – maybe one minute of an employee’s time. When I did fund raising, I found it was the personal touch that the customer remembered. I don’t think we make our choices on rational grounds. :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 18, 2009 | Reply

  6. I wish I could say the same things about Klm. My experience with the airline on the 30th of March is the most humiliating encounter I’ve had in my life. The customer relations is zero.

    Comment by Olufunmilola Johnson | April 20, 2012 | Reply

  7. Olufunmilola, I am so sorry to hear you had a horrible and humiliating encounter. I had one of those with KLM when the snippy little desk clerk in Amsterdam didn’t want to let me buy an upgrade, and the customer service rep in the business lounge said I was allowed it. I had to run back and forth and back and forth, and I was taking this trip because my father had died and I felt terrible. Finally the good customer service rep won, and the mean snippy clerk had to give me an upgrade ticket and she didn’t like that at all. You have to wonder why some of these people even work with the public at all!

    Have faith. Bad things happen. God willing, the next time, it will be a time when something good will happen for you.

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 20, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

