Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Setting Up for the TriBeca Film Fest

A lot of my life is just like yours – fairly routine. Regular meetings, regular obligations, regular trips to the market to keep my family in food, meal preparations, etc.

Lately, even my mother commented I’ve been eating out a lot. No! No! It’s not true!

We do eat out a couple times a week. I don’t always take photos because many of the places we eat, we have already reviewed at least once.

When guests come to town, we often eat out a little more because we are on the go.

And so like during one trip, I can take photos for a number of different posts. One trip to Souq al Waqif and I have mermaid fabric photos, a restaurant review, a photo of the new tower, maybe a few shots for the school calendar, some traffic revision shots upon leaving – see what I mean? It’s not like I am eating out all the time, but when we go someplace new or when I need something to blog about, I dig them out.

This is one of those “just one more thing” shots – they are setting up at both the Museum of Islamic Arts and at the Souq al Waqif for the upcoming Tribeca Film Fest. They say Robert de Niro will be here (Wooo HOOOOOO!) There is a lot of excitement building, and I can understand – they are going to a lot of trouble to make sure it is a BIG deal.

00TribecaSetUpSuqAlWaqif

You can find out more about the Tribeca Film Fest 2009 by clicking on the blue type.

October 24, 2009 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Blogging, Building, Doha, Entertainment, Living Conditions, Qatar | 4 Comments

New Tower at the Suq al Waqif

We’ve been watching construction on this new tower; it seemed to go up within months. I can’t imagine what it is for, but oh, what fun. It’s the brownish colored tower on the left, before the entrance to Soy. It’s fort-like.

00AlWaqafTower

October 24, 2009 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, Building, Doha, ExPat Life, Living Conditions, Qatar | 4 Comments

Little Mosque on the Corner

This is for my western friends, but anyone who sees me saying something wrong is welcome to jump in and fix it so it’s right.

We have a little mosque on the corner near our villa. Now, having a mosque on the corner is nothing special, in fact, when giving directions, it is kind of a joke, because you can give landmarks and then say “and you turn right at the mosque” but there are SO MANY mosques that using a mosque as a landmark is almost sure to confuse whoever is trying to find you.

Nonetheless, every neighborhood has its own mosque, and then there are bigger mosques where everyone gathers on Fridays, we call them Friday mosques, and then there are even bigger ones where everyone gathers on the two big holidays called Eids.

But this is our little neighborhood mosque:

00CornerMosque

I think it is very beautiful.

In the back, around this time of the year, they start a garden. I think it is for poor people to have something to eat, but I don’t know. I love it that they take a tiny little space and make it useful.

00MosqueGarden

We live close enough to hear the call to prayer five times a day – it seems like more. There is the “get ready” call and then there is the real thing. During Ramadan, sometimes there are prayers over the microphone (it is on low) all night. It isn’t so intrusive; when it is hot and the air conditioning is on, you can’t even hear it. It’s kind of reassuring, to me, hearing someone praying all night long.

October 24, 2009 Posted by | Adventure, Beauty, Building, Community, Doha, Eid, ExPat Life, Living Conditions | 8 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 462 other followers