Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Qatar National Day Fireworks Spectacular

The problem is, even with the most amazing situation in the world, my wonderful little hand held Lumix can’t begin to capture the awe-inspiring grandeur of the 20 minute Qatar National Day Fireworks spectacular.

Another amazing thing – the fireworks started ON TIME. Suddenly the entire length of the Corniche erupted in white waterfalls. The fireworks were kept relatively close to the ground, and compact, but spread along a couple miles – it was an amazing feat, and the timing was to the second.

Caught in traffic, we decided to try something different. Like the Robert Frost poem, we took a road less travelled by, and it made all the difference. We lucked into a fantastic vantage point.

I have to add a special thanks here to AdventureMan. He knows how much I love fireworks, and I knew he has to work tomorrow, and still, he took me to see the fireworks. We were stuck in bumper-to-bumper traffic until we took a chance, and by a miracle, found this fantastic, uncrowded vantage point. He love the fireworks as much as I did, but he did it for me, and my heart is full of gratitude. :-)

December 18, 2009 Posted by | Adventure, Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, Community, Cultural, Doha, Events, ExPat Life, Living Conditions, Marriage, Qatar, Relationships | , | 14 Comments

Beautiful Day for a Parade

Friday morning, the sleep-in morning, but not today. It is a sweet, beautiful, morning and a perfect day for a parade:

I have my Qatar flags displayed in front of my house for Qatar National Day:

I used to fly Kuwait flags on Kuwait National Day, but the wind was so strong, they sometimes blew away!

There is a lot going on today – the parade, children’s activities, displays of all the military equipment, heritage sites – it’s a grand day to be in Qatar, especially – the fireworks tonight!

December 18, 2009 Posted by | Adventure, Cultural, Doha, Events, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Qatar | 1 Comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 460 other followers