Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Feast of the Epiphany in Doha

Our priest at the Church of the Epiphany has been instructing the children on how the church year differs from the marketing year. While “Christmas” may start in October – or even July! – to merchants eager to sell their wares, for church-going Christians, Christmas starts on Christmas Eve – and is celebrated, each and every day, until the Feast of the Epiphany, celebrating the Three Wise Men traveling to find the Christ Child in Bethlehem.

“I know what I want for Christmas this year,” I said to my startled friend, “I want you to fix my camel. I have all the things, or most of them, but I haven’t a clue where to start.”

My friend is a very busy woman. She has so much on her plate. But there was not a sign of reluctance on her face. “I LOVE doing camels!” she exclaimed!

“I want it to look like a camel coming with the Wise Men to bring gifts to the Christ Child,” I told her, and she got it without any explanation – yep, gold, frankincense, myrrh . . .

The camel is everything I had dreamed of – and more. She made little bags, she created a treasure chest of gifts, she even included my sewing machine and a coffee grinder!

I have three little Wise Men following the camel, bringing gifts. The Qatteri Cat has inflicted some damage; one is missing a foot and I can’t find it anywhere. I was able to glue a head back on, and a feather on another . . . The Qatteri Cat does not get Epiphany.

A lawyer from Texas A&M did a wonderful film, sent to me by my sweet daughter-in-law’s dear aunt, called The Star in which he presents the result of his research to find scientific evidence that a Star might have stood still over the little city of Bethlehem at the the time pinpointed for the birth of The Christ. It’s an amazing and insightful video, the life work of a devoted man.

January 5, 2010 Posted by | Adventure, Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, Experiment, Iran, Spiritual, Technical Issue | 8 Comments

The Snowflake Man

From a wonderful website on Parenting, iMom, full of ideas, comes this lovely video on a man who photographed snowflakes:

Snowflake Man from Family First on Vimeo.

With thanks to my wonderful daughter-in-law, EnviroGirl, for the reference. :-)

January 5, 2010 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, Biography, Technical Issue, Weather | 2 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 491 other followers