Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Waterfront Mission Pensacola

LOL, this is what a mother-son outing looks like in our family. Our son volunteered to take me shopping at the Waterfront Mission, a store like Goodwill or the Salvation Army or St. Vincent de Paul, second hand stores run by churches. I love these stores (and I donate to these stores!) because I can find treasures here to make new and usable once again, and when I spend my money here, I know it will go to help the homeless, help feed the poor, help heat a house for a person without the money for electricity, etc. These are worthy organizations, providing a great service to the community.

People get rid of perfectly good, usable furniture, because they want something fresh and new. This is good news for people like me – I took a class in furniture upholstery and discovered that it is something I love doing. Tearing off the old fabric and stuffing is GREAT therapy when you are annoyed or anxious about something, and good prayer time, too. Putting it all back together is just good fun. Many times there are pieces of wood that need to be stripped and/or refinished; at least in the pieces I like to renovate.

Wait! I’ll show you some of the potential treasures I found! I didn’t buy anything; haven’t got the house yet, but this field trip gave me inspiration for the future:

See what I mean? These pieces have potential!

For AdventureMan:

Here is a detail – how cool is that?

If you want your own massage table:

Someone spray painted this daybed a verdigris sort of green. It could be rescued, but it would be a lot of trouble . . .

For your outdoor patio, there are two marble topped tables:

And for my collector friends, a real treasure – a SINGER treadle!

There were exquisite wedding dresses for sale – makes you wonder what happened to the marriage, that a bride would part with her wedding dress. Most of these are custom made; they are available at prices that would make them worth buying just to re-use the fabrics in a quilt or cushion or Christmas stocking:

There are things I would never buy used – like a mattress. But many pieces of furniture from older times are 100% solid wood, and better made than some of the furniture you find in stores, even expensive stores, worth the effort to rescue and rehabilitate. And, for people like me, the rehabilitation is part of the fun. :-) Thanks be to God for a husband and son and daughter (in-law) who support my peculiar habits!

March 1, 2010 Posted by | Adventure, Arts & Handicrafts, Biography, Charity, Community, Cross Cultural, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Florida, Interconnected, Living Conditions, Shopping | 6 Comments

Americans Sing for the Liberation of Kuwait

My sweet Kuwait friend sent me this today. It made me cry.

We all have memories of the invasion. I remember it well. We had just moved to Tampa, AdventureMan was working with CENTCOM. He had just brought his very old grandmother to visit with us, and the next day, Iraq invaded, and his grandmother and I didn’t see him again!

We have had a long history with Kuwait, longer than our time living there. Kuwait matters to us. This song makes me cry; the effects of this invasion linger on, resonating and affecting so many lives:

March 1, 2010 Posted by | Adventure, Biography, Community, Counter-terrorism, Cross Cultural, Events, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Friends & Friendship, Interconnected, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Middle East, Political Issues, Social Issues | 5 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers