Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Before and Now

No, my house is not undergoing a ‘remodel.’ It is undergoing a rewiring. About the best that will happen is that when it is finished, it will look a lot like it looked before, except with invisible copper wiring instead of aluminum wiring, which, as it turns out, is problematic.

Sigh. And then again, what better time to have this all done than BEFORE you move in? If it had to happen, it couldn’t have happened at a better time, and we have some truly great contractors. How many times have you ever heard someone say that?

Today I went by the house to pick up the mail and holy smokes – the garage is full of ceiling, and my house is bare bones!

Here are some before and after shots:

Family Room Before:

Family Room Now:

Kitchen Before:

Kitchen Now:

Living Room Before:

Living Room Now:

And last but not least – the Garage before:

And the Garage now:

March 26, 2010 - Posted by | Adventure, Arts & Handicrafts, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Florida, Health Issues, Humor, Living Conditions, Moving, Renovations

13 Comments »

  1. Wow–they are being totally neat! You won’t have to redo the house, or will they be tearing into walls next?

    Comment by momcat | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. Intlxpatr :

    Do you have central AC units or split type for those hot and muggy Florida days

    Comment by daggero | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. When I was home for Christmas vacation I watched a couple of episodes of one of those reality series about a really good and ethical contractor who came in behind the really awful guys and cleaned up their mess and mistakes. It was really scary who tries to pass themselves off and the nightmares they hide behind walls. These guys are obviously a very professional team.

    When they’re all done it will be as safe as it is beautiful!

    @momcat – they shouldn’t have to tear into the walls. They can disconnect the wiring from the outlets/switches, pull the wiring up through the ceiling, and then “snake” new wiring down from the ceiling. They can’t do that in the ceiling because the wiring from the master control panel connects to small junction boxes which split out to feed multiple outlets/switches (you can see them pretty clearly in the kitchen photo). Less professional contractors are also more likely to “hide” bad and unsafe work in the ceiling (ex., splicing into live lines instead of using junction boxes) than they are on strands that feed single outlet. So, opening the ceiling also helps them ensure everything is to code and as safe as possible. bj

    p.s. LOOK at all the GREEN TREES through the windows!

    Comment by BitJockey | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  4. Hi Intlxptr, or “former expat”. I feel so pity with you. I came across your blog when had left already the Middle East for good. And, to admit, I’ve never arrived here in the far north:

    http://aliqapoo.wordpress.com/2008/12/12/69%cb%9a40%e2%80%99n-18%cb%9a56%e2%80%99e/

    As of my experience, once you have lived in ME you will always miss the people there, their humanity, simple-heartedness, amiability. I wonder when and how you will come back. I will be glad reading about your new adventures then. Don’t forget your plans of visiting Iran! I unfortunately couldn’t make it last year (and because of the current developments, I actually don’t want right now).

    Cordially,
    Fahad

    Comment by Fahad | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  5. Momcat – I told the contractor the same thing this morning – I was so impressed. These guys are a class act, so serious, so responsible. Thanks be to God!

    Daggero – I know we have two big units, but I am not sure yet how they work. It could be that air – or plumbing – will be the next ‘great adventure.’ I think they A/C and heat separate areas of the house. If there is one thing Floridians know how do do, it is air condition. :-) And do you see all the fans?

    Hey, Bit Jockey, now I have learned something new, too. I know these guys are being very thorough, to insure I don’t have a future problem. And – like a lot of guys who are into electricity – they really know what they are doing. The process you described is exactly what they described. They are hoping they don’t have to take out any ceilings on the second story because they can work in the roof. :-)

    Oh Fahad, thank you for your sentiments. It was very sad leaving. And today I discovered a ‘Jordan Valley’ restaurant in downtown Pensacola, which my daughter in law tells me is really, really GOOD. I will have to ask them if they can make me some Fattah! Yes, we still want to go to Iran one day . . . we shall see if that is possible. Stranger things have happened. Look at Libya!

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  6. Wow…you are right about your contractor being one-in-a-million. I’ve never seen such a neat work space…they are being very gentle considering all the ceiling had to go. Bye bye popcorn ceilings :)

    Comment by grammy | March 26, 2010 | Reply

  7. Wooo HOOOO smooth ceilings, at least on the main floor! :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 27, 2010 | Reply

  8. I love the built-ins! and am VERY jealous of your kitchen!

    Comment by Q8Dutchie | March 28, 2010 | Reply

  9. Dutchie, it has ooodles and oodles of cupboards and shelving space, it is a dream for storage. This is not the kitchen I had dreamed of; I had always thought I would have an island, or a dine-at counter, for casual dining, but as long as the kitchen is open to the family room, I find I am OK with it. I just didn’t want to be in the kitchen far away from where people are laughing and having fun, and this works. :-) Hope you will be coming for a visit. :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 28, 2010 | Reply

  10. good luck with the new look :) It looks really nice!

    Comment by Amu | March 29, 2010 | Reply

  11. Hey Amu, thanks! It’s good to see you :-) How are things at the Mubarakiyya?

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 29, 2010 | Reply

  12. If you get the wires and air ducts treated right, you could have some gorgeous exposed ceiling :O

    Comment by RoboGrrl | April 2, 2010 | Reply

  13. Hmmm. Had not thought of that, RoboGrrl. I’m looking forward to SMOOTH ceilings. :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 482 other followers

