Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

All Those Sinners

As I do my readings this morning, I come once again to Psalm 26:

Psalm 26

Of David.
1 Vindicate me, O Lord,
for I have walked in my integrity,
and I have trusted in the Lord without wavering.
2 Prove me, O Lord, and try me;
test my heart and mind.
3 For your steadfast love is before my eyes,
and I walk in faithfulness to you.*

4 I do not sit with the worthless,
nor do I consort with hypocrites;
5 I hate the company of evildoers,
and will not sit with the wicked.

(You can read the rest of it by clicking here)


(Hironymous Bosch: Last Judgememt)

It always makes me smile.

We had a priest who we loved; he would tell us about going to church with his mother, and after the service Mama would say “I hope all those sinners were listening!”

Two points. The first is that who do you hang around with if not with sinners and hypocrites? And if you can find even one, will he or she want to hang around with me? I am both a hypocrite and a sinner; I try not to be, but I slip. Often.

Second, for my western readers, did you know that the Psalms of David are also part of Islamic scripture? That Jesus (Isa) is revered as a prophet and a holy man, along with John the Baptist (YahYa) and that there is an entire chapter in the Qu’ran called Mariam, which talks about the birth of Jesus? We all have a lot more in common, more in common than we have differences.

July 13, 2010 - Posted by | Humor, Spiritual, Values

3 Comments »

  1. i love these comparative analysis of yours. makes for an interesting and thought provoking read!!!

    Comment by Mrm | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. so interesting – as a hypocrite and a sinner (tho always looking to do better …) I loved this post!

    One of my students wrote a terrific paper comparing the figure of Abraham (Ibrahim) in the Qur’an and the Old Testament – as a father, a man of faith, etc. really interesting.

    There are actually two names for “John” in Arabic: Yahya, which tends to be used more by Muslims, and Hanna, which tends to be used more by Christians. But `Isa and the other Biblical/Qur’anic figures all have the same names regardless of religion. Go figure :)

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. All my really good friends are just like you, Mrm, smart, thoughtful women and men.

    Little Diamond, no matter how hard we try, there seems to be no changing these sinful ways. AdventureMan and I always joke about ‘all those sinners’ knowing full well we be them.

    Comment by intlxpatr | July 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 460 other followers

