Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Wyoming to Colorado Springs

We are eager to get going, but oh, we are shivering, and happy we brought a little fleece with us:

It is a glorious morning, bright sunshine, clear air, a day when we are glad to be alive and on the road.


Across South Dakota and Montana, we saw the huge round rolls of hay that we saw in France and Germany, but across Wyoming, most of the bales are the old fashioned square ones. We are thinking square is easier to store, but there must be some advantage, also, to the round ones, as they seem to be the latest invention. Anyone know why?

We find a rest stop so we can change drivers, and there is a set of sculptures there called The Greeting and the Gift, just as you are exiting Wyoming and entering Colorado:

I love this one. It looks noble. The First Nation (Native American) is offering a pipe of water. When I was a kid, I would have thought it was a peace pipe, but the explanation says otherwise. The Greeting statue I don’t like as much for two reasons – his hands seem out-of-scale large to me, and the hair does not look like a mountain man or explorer (to me) but looks sort of Hellenic. What do you think?

At the end of a very short drive is a city I love, Colorado Springs. I love it because (most of the time) the air seems clear and clean to me. I love it in the winter, when it is cold, and in the summer, when it is hot, it is dry heat, like Kuwait, but not so hot, so it doesn’t bother me. There are a million quilt shops here, all of which I intend to hit today while AdventureMan does some consulting and I drive the gypsy-mobile. There are also Macy’s department stores, which Pensacola doesn’t have, and Sephora, which Pensacola may be getting soon but did not have when I left.

We went to see George Clooney’s new film, The American, which gave us hours of conversation, and on our way to our Marriott home picked up a feast from Whole Foods – all vegetable! Balsamic grilled brussel sprouts, marinated grilled beets, a vegetarian meatloaf that really tasted like meat (!), guacomole, a pico de gallo with some bite, pita bread, sauteed garlic spinach, and some wonderfully tasty olives. AdventureMan picked up a really good bottle of Colorado merlot (yes, it exists, and is called Two Rivers: Chateau Deux Fleuves Vineyards.

Crowning our day was a sunset over Pike’s Peak. I don’t like a lot of drama in my life, but I love a lot of drama in a sunset. I loved this one so much that I am going to show you three different shots, because I can’t choose the one I like the best.

September 8, 2010 - Posted by | Adventure, Beauty, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Food, Health Issues, Living Conditions, Public Art, Shopping, Sunsets, Travel

6 Comments »

  1. Love your photos, In Photo (2) what are the wood fence for? I saw them too.
    We Had snow while driving in Yellowstone National Park

    Comment by Hayfa | September 9, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hayfa – they are SNOW fences, put in place to help keep the snow from drifting over the roads. Did you notice, particularly in Wyoming, the gates that can close the roads, and all the signs that said “if the lights are flashing, return to (like Bozeman, or whatever is the nearest town)? Those most northern roads can be impossible during the deep dark winter months. People get stranded all the time. So much snow and ice, you would not believe it!

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thank you very much for the information. Mohamed & I was wondering, and guessing. We are from the desert country , we should think of something for the dust storm !!!lol.

    Comment by Hayfa | September 11, 2010 | Reply

  4. :-D

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  5. Intlxpatr :

    On your wondering why the American Hay is square , I think because America was built by Puritan Farmers who were Square and didn’t like the innuendos conjured by the term a Roll in the Hay ,they decided to pack it in squares

    Comment by daggero | September 13, 2010 | Reply

  6. LLLOOOOLLL, Daggero, you are hilarious.

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 446 other followers

