Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Chinese Chicken Salad

A new favorite in our house – and so easy to make:

Chinese Chicken Salad

Ingredients
• 3 tablespoons hoisin sauce
• 2 tablespoons peanut butter
• 2 teaspoons brown sugar
• 3/4 teaspoon hot chili paste
• 1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
• 3 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
• 1 tablespoon sesame oil
• 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves (or I use rotisserie chicken to save time, chopped up)
• 1 package top ramen noodles, broken into little pieces
• 1/4 cup blanched slivered almonds
• 4 cups romaine lettuce – torn, washed and dried
• 2 cups shredded carrots
• 1 bunch green onions, chopped
• 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions:
1. For the dressing, mix together the hoisin sauce, peanut butter, brown sugar, chili paste, ginger, vinegar and sesame oil.

2. Grill or broil chicken until cooked, cool and slice.

3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 C). Spray a large shallow pan with nonstick vegetable spray, arrange ramen noodles and almond slivers in a single layer and bake 20 minutes or until golden brown. Cool.

4. In a large bowl, combine the chicken, wontons, lettuce, carrots, green onions and cilantro. Toss with dressing and serve.

It’s what’s for dinner. :-)

December 7, 2010 Posted by | Cross Cultural, Food, Recipes | Leave a comment

“I’m Not Sure I Agree With What I am About to Say”

After all these years . . .

AdventureMan can still crack me up. As we were talking the other day, he started a sentence with “I am not sure I agree with what I am about to say . . .” and he didn’t get any further. I was cracking up too badly to listen. Like – if you might not agree with what you are about to say, why on earth would you say it??? I didn’t even have to say it, he started laughing, too, and whatever he was about to say did not get said.

This morning, he came in wanting to interrupt me with some item of business and I glared at him. I glared at him.

“I’m paying bills.” I said. That says it all. Paying bills is stressful for me. Historically, as a young military wife, it was all about making sure the bills were paid and wondering how much money would be left after paying all the bills. We never did not pay a bill. We often eeeked our way from paycheck to paycheck.

Now, by the grace of God, there is enough money, even retired, but we still need to be careful, and I particularly try to be careful because so much is done electronically, that transposing two digits could post a payment to the wrong account, or pay the wrong amount. For me, it takes concentration.

“After 37 years, I should know that, shouldn’t I?” he asked, backing carefully out of my office.

LLLOOOOLLL.

December 7, 2010 Posted by | Aging, Communication, Family Issues, Financial Issues, Living Conditions | 6 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 461 other followers