Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Things Get Done

As many of you who know me may know, I am mildly obsessive-compulsive. I like things to be in their designated space. I like a clean house, down to the baseboards and the hidden places. I suppose it gives me some mystical illusion of control in a world where there is little (I believe) that can be controlled.

I believe my faith is pragmatic; I have learned – at least in my life – that God is in control, and that his plans are far better than my plans, although when I am in the midst of chaos, I have problems clinging to that belief, LOL.

But he sends me messages. As I have ended the old year and started the new year in a frenzy of cleaning out and organizing, I have come across lists from nightmare times in my life, mostly getting ready to move or settling in to a new location. Lists and lists of things to be done, things to be checked on . . . and I am comforted to know that what – at the time – was overwhelming, the details sorted themselves out. Things got done. Little by little, we ate the elephant.

As I came across notes and lists this morning, for buying this house and getting settled in Pensacola, I was able to take a deep breath. We survived. We got it all done. Lists and lists of details, and we got it all done. All of a sudden, things assume their proper perspective, and I thank God for this view of what my life looked like a year ago compared to what it looks like today.

We are settled.

I have friends.

We can pay our bills.

We have a house to live in and cars to drive.

We are in good health, and we have a good doctor.

We have a place where the Qattari Cat can stay when we go out of town.

We are registered voters, and have driver’s licenses and pay our taxes on time (insh’allah.)

We have a strong and rewarding family life, and activities we enjoy.

Life is sweet.

January 4, 2011 - Posted by | Adventure, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Florida, Home Improvements, Living Conditions, Moving, Pensacola, Pets, Qatteri Cat, Random Musings

4 Comments »

  1. this was most helpful….I think I may be about 1/3 of the way through the elephant here….you’re telling me there is hope? :)

    Comment by Grammy | January 4, 2011 | Reply

  2. Grammy, when I got up this morning, it was grim and grey, and I felt so depressed and hopeless. I almost called you, but I didn’t want to risk bringing you down, too. Then I found the notes.

    There is hope. :-) We do get it done. And then, we forget all that we have gotten done!

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 4, 2011 | Reply

  3. Life is always sweet, but sometimes we get high sugar levels and that’s where it turns upside down.

    Happy New Year. :)

    Comment by MacaholiQ8 | January 5, 2011 | Reply

  4. LLOOLL@high sugar levels, but you are right, it turns everything upside down. Happy New Year to you, too, Mac. :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

