Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Kuwait National Seismic Network

I don’t know why I am suddenly getting a lot of hits on an old post I wrote when we had an earthquake in Kuwait, and discovered that Kuwait was vulnerable. Somehow, we thought Kuwait was a low risk earthquake area. I thought about it a lot, on the 10th floor of my tower in Fintas, as I watched how other tall buildings were being constructed. :-(

If you need information on earthquakes and / or tsunamis in Kuwait, here is the best place to start: click the blue type

Kuwait National Seismic Network

March 25, 2011 - Posted by | Blogging, Building, Bureaucracy, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Local Lore

6 Comments »

  1. Intlxpatr :

    Yesterday Friday the 25 of March we got hit by a massive sandstorm that turned the afternoon sunlight into pitch dark sky .Someone with WHATS App program made a broadcast that the Sand Storm is a precursor to an Earthquake and scared others . So maybe that’s why you got those hits .Ah the power of modern communications

    Comment by daggero | March 26, 2011 | Reply

  2. Aha! The mystery is solved. I am still getting hits on it today, bit numbers, so I was curious. Thanks, Daggero.

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 26, 2011 | Reply

  3. 1997 there was a 4.0 quake that shook Kuwait for a few seconds. I watched the tall apartment buildings across the street from me swaying. It can happen.

    Comment by Desert Girl | March 27, 2011 | Reply

  4. I think there were some earthquakes in 1996 and 1997 related to the depleting oil bubbles, and then they started filing depleted areas with, I believe, salt water, to fill the void. But the one in 2007? 2008? sometime when I was living there was not related to a void, but to something a ways away. That’s when I discovered Kuwait is not invulnerable and started worrying about building codes and code enforcement.

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 27, 2011 | Reply

  5. http://www.alarabiya.net/articles/2011/03/25/143001.html This kind of articles are the reason that u get all this hits.

    Comment by Maggie | September 26, 2011 | Reply

  6. Kuwait’s earthquakes are primarily a result of taking out the massive amounts of oil, so I understand, Maggie. The companies are supposed to be filling the voids with seawater, but I am not so sure it is always successful. A tsunami would be frightful considering that most of many Gulf Countries is lowland; it wouldn’t take much to swamp the entire city of Kuwait or Doha. Sea-level cities . . .

    Comment by intlxpatr | September 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

