Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Chew Your Juice

“But we only drink REAL orange juice!” I protested to my friend. “We only buy orange juice squeezed from real oranges, not juice drink, or orange juice from concentrate!”

“Have you read the sugar content on the lable?” she asked quietly.

I grabbed the carton and started reading. Oh. Holy cow. 22 grams of sugar in one serving.

“There is nothing wrong with juice,” my friend added, “but chew your juice.”

” ? ? ? “

“Eat whole fruit. That way you get all the good stuff, the skin, the vitamins and the fiber as well as the juice. Better for you.”

Sigh. Another habit to break and replace with a newer, better, healthier habit. No more juice.

Hmmm. Now I wonder about my hot-weather addiction, McDonald’s wild berry smoothies. I don’t think I want to know how many grams of sugar per serving . . . .

April 13, 2011 Posted by | Aging, Food, Health Issues | 1 Comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 447 other followers