Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

The Travellers’ Dilemma

The restaurants were full this Saturday in Pensacola, all the nice restaurants; there is a Beth Moore conference in town and all the ladies are out to lunch. We were lucky, we walked in just before the crowd and snagged a table at one of our favorite Pensacola restaurants, The Fish House. Great meal, great service, great conversation, and we were out in under an hour. Wooo HOOO.

Have you noticed many of the good restaurants don’t take reservations these days, not unless you are a large group, like six or more? Maybe as the economy starts to lift again, that will change. It’s just odd.

Meanwhile, I have a couple flights tomorrow, and now that I am not flying overnight, or half the world, and now that we are retired, I am flying sardine class. And the airlines don’t serve food. If you buy food in the airport, your choices are limited, and expensive, and it can be messy.

So I’ve been thinking about what to take. I need something nutritious. I need something that tastes good. I need something that can be eaten sort of subtly; now that there is not a real meal time, you might be eating with people who don’t have anything. So you also need something you can share.

It can’t have an offensive smell. We love those Japanese crackers, but in a confined space, all of a sudden you notice how FISHY they smell. Ditto sushi, LOL. Can’t eat Wasabi peas, either, because they are also odor causing, in their own way. No garlic; some people cannot abide garlic or onions.

It can’t be something that might leak in my carry on. It can’t be something that needs a utensil. It can’t be too salty, or carry too many calories. It can’t be loudly crunchy, like carrots or celery.

Do you see the problem?

AdventureMan says “You worry about things like that?” He is genuinely puzzled. But yeh, I think about these things, and try to anticipate a problem so that there ISN’T a problem.

I finally decided on some Chex Mix, and some trail mix (nuts and fruits). You can eat a little at a time, you can share.

I figure I can pick up some coffee at the airport where I change flights. I love the seasonal Peppermint Mochas, Gingerbread Lattes, etc. It’s a most wonderful time of the year :-)

What do you take on a long flight when you will not be provided a meal?

December 3, 2011 - Posted by | Adventure, Civility, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Food, Health Issues, Living Conditions, Pensacola

5 Comments »

  1. I hate the airlines now – not only do they not server a measly “snack” they then offer to sell it to you at outrageously prices. And, I’ll be *&$! if I’m paying those prices after paying as much as we do for a plane ticket – even for the cattle car class.

    I wouldn’t worry about whether anyone else had anything – they’re free to buy or bring their own, same as you, and there’s always some who are going to pay the high prices and buy the in-flight snacks.

    I’m like you now – no more 12-18+ hours for one segment flights that start and end on different days of the week :). After dealing with those, I don’t see anything as a “long” flight anymore. Although the prices may be a little higher in the airport, I’ve started grabbing a meal there since I (being paranoid about missing flights) get there much earlier than needed. Then I’ll just drink the (still free for now) beverage on the flight – or, I just wait it out and get something to eat once I’ve landed.

    Comment by Ken | December 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. I usually try to eat at the airport like Ken, but I am always fearful of that unscheduled 2 hours on the tarmac so I pack trail mix(usually one that has more fruit than nuts) and some turkey jerky. Sometimes I grab a salad to eat on board. I don’t worry about eating in front of those who don’t have anything but I do try to avoid the fishy and garlic-y stuff.

    Comment by momcat | December 3, 2011 | Reply

  3. I see we are very much on the same track, so far . . . :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  4. Safe travels, with no delays so that your snack plan turns out to be just right! :)

    Comment by Grammy | December 5, 2011 | Reply

  5. Thank you, Grammy :-) All went well; I am here enjoying very chilly weather!

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 472 other followers

