Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Boss Oyster in Apalachicola

Many years ago, Boss Oyster was our favorite place to go in Apalachicola. One time we went there and just ate oysters. Oyster stew, a whole variety of raw and steamed oysters, then some fried oysters. That was lunch. When dinner came, we didn’t even want any dinner, oysters are so rich.

This time, we didn’t pig out. :-) And we still love Boss Oyster :-)

I don’t know any word to describe it but funky. It isn’t all modern and it is not pristine. It’s funky. It has character. It has charm. Some people would hate it, some would turn up their noses at it. Not us. We love Boss Oyster.

This is our table:

And here is what I ordered this time: Gouda Gouda Oysters. Oh Yummm.

I barely remembered to take a picture of the oysters. I totally forgot to photograph anything else. Sorry! We just got carried away having a good time!

December 9, 2011 - Posted by | Adventure, Cultural, Eating Out, Florida, Food |

5 Comments »

  1. ohh oyster..

    Comment by ROJAK | December 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. My wife and I were recently in the Keys. I thought I would give oysters another shake because I’ve never been one to like the texture. We did and I still don’t like them. I need to coat them in hot sauce just to get them down. I wish I liked them because they are in such abundance in Florida.

    Comment by Alan Davidson | December 11, 2011 | Reply

  3. Suwanee! Where did your blog go?

    I can’t – and won’t – eat raw oysters. After living a life sort of on the edge, I don’t like taking risks that don’t matter, and eating raw oysters, IMHO, is one of those small risks that could have big consequences. Just not worth it. I also don’t like the texture. My absolute favorite oyster-on-the shell would have spinach and a little soy-sauce, I don’t know why, but I really like it.

    Fried oysters are just too rich for me. Oyster stew, however, I totally love.

    Is it shellfish in general for you, or oysters in particular?

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 11, 2011 | Reply

  4. My husband and I visted (from La. but he is originally from St Pete)recently. We loved All of the food we ate. I had the oysters and he had the clams. GREAT. Will be back

    Comment by Debbie | May 5, 2012 | Reply

  5. I’m so glad you had a great experience, Debbie. :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | May 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers

