Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Qwon Chi Sushi

I was on a mission. This wasn’t one of those leisurely trips through the supermarket, this was one of those four-things-on-the-list trips – grab, pay and go.

But I had to pass the sushi section en route to the chicken section, and they were offering free samples. I took one; it looked interesting.

“New sushi” he said with a grin.

“What kind is it?” I asked

“Qwon Chi Roll” he said confidently.

“”Qwon Chi?” I asked.

“No, Qwon Chi Roll” he said, but this time the accent was on the first syllable.

“Qwon’-Chi” I repeated, trying to figure out what it was.

He kept smiling but he was not happy; I wasn’t getting it. He reached behind him and pulled out a sign:

CRUNCHY ROLL

I thought of all my “Woh is der bahnhof” moments, when I have spoken to people in their own language and they couldn’t understand me, and I just had to laugh. What goes around truly comes around, doesn’t it?

January 10, 2012 Posted by | Communication, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Humor, Shopping | 3 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers