Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

For My Kuwaiti Friends With Teenagers :-)

If you have a Teen-Ager interested in art, history and tour guiding then this Program is for YOU!

This is a new programme the Dar al-Athar al-Islamiyyah is offering for students and I think it’s pretty exciting.

Thanks,
Sue Day

We are excited to announce the launch of the new
DAI Junior Docent Programme
for students between ages 13 – 16

Information Meeting
11 April at 7 PM
The Warsha
Amricani Cultural Centre
or
email: susanday@darmuseum.org.kw
The two year programme (September 2012 – June 2014) is designed to help your child develop personal abilities, including:

· leadership skills
· team work
· problem solving
· public speaking
· time management
· study skills
· perseverance
· creative thinking

This will be accomplished while they complete, with help from DAI professionals:

· 15 hours of docent training
· 18 hours of art history education
· 66 hours of docent work
· 12 hours of introduction to six aspects of museum management
· 12 hours training in one of the following: acquisitions, collection management, conservation, museum management, exhibition presentation, or museum education
· 12 hours training in another of the following: acquisitions, collection management, conservation, museum management, exhibition presentation, or museum education
· the preparation, implementation and management of an exhibition

So whether your child is into arts and culture, science, or just interested in something fun that looks good on a university application, you should consider encouraging him or her to join the DAI Junior Docent Programme.


Susan Eileen Day
Communications and Education
Dar al-Athar al-Islamiyyah

March 28, 2012 Posted by | Adventure, Arts & Handicrafts, Cross Cultural, Cultural, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Work Related Issues | Leave a comment

The Winner!

You’d think, now that we are ‘retired’ that we would have a lot of time, but we have plugged in to our community, and we are busy and scheduled! Before I left for Seattle, I was preparing for, and then helping with the Pensacola Quilt Show, held only every two years.

It was a lot of fun. Pensacola has amazing quilters, people who hand-piece and hand quilt, people who are amazingly skilled at machine quilting, and I am honored to know some of them, and delighted when I get a chance to work alongside them.

Whether or not I had won a ribbon, I would be honored just hanging my quilts in the same room with these talented women. Nevertheless, I did win an honorable mention in the theme quilt catagory, which was Snail’s Trail. I am only telling you this because I want to show you the ribbon, which is whimisical, clever and delightful:


I smile every time I look at it.

In addition, I won one of the offerings at the Chinese Auction. I have seen these auctions run different ways, but in this one, you get 25 chances for $5, and I put all my chances in the jar for these fabrics, I wanted them so badly. I took a class from the lady who made them, and I love the work she does. Winning this is like winning a pot of gold for a quilter :-)

When I look at these fabrics, I am ready to start quilting again!

March 28, 2012 Posted by | Adventure, Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, color, Community, Events, ExPat Life, Friends & Friendship, Fund Raising, Local Lore | 7 Comments

“You Brought the Sunshine!”

When I arrived in Seattle, my best friend from University said “You brought the sunshine!”


(This week’s weather in Seattle)

Now, when I fly back to Seattle, it takes a mere half day, not a day and a half. When I leave early enough, I can arrive mid-day, and beat the rush hour traffic. You’d think after driving in Kuwait and Qatar that I would find Seattle traffic tame, but Germany, with it’s wide-laned autobahn, and Pensacola, with it’s laid back version of going-home traffic have spoiled me.

Seattle is beautiful, although my trip is one of those more stressful ones, with things to be done to manage changing circumstances. My Mom may – or may not – have had a stroke. What is verifiable is that she has been very very sick, too sick to live on her own any longer, sick enough to need hospitalization, and professional monitoring from now on. The sisters have handled mountains of work and desperate calls for assistance, and now it is my turn to do what I can.

I stayed in Mom’s condo, but it was a little soulless, all her favorite pieces of furniture moved to her new place, her plants languishing, the stuff and detritus of life waiting to be cleared out.

Thank God for my best friend, and for the sunshine.


The sun just beginning to color the mountains as it rises off in the east.

The sisters had a full day of business, money, finances, and Mom’s recovery plan. We get a little goofy after a while; it’s a family culture. Our way of handling the worst, worst of times is laughter, and there were several times we were almost breathless from laughing. Yeh, I guess some would find it inappropriate, but for us, for our family, I think it is how we survive.

My second day there, we had a joyful family wedding. It was one of the sweetest events I have attended in a long time, and I loved the way the bride and the groom looked at each other, that they enjoyed their own wedding, smiling, laughing, dancing. Their signature was over everything; the colors (Purples!) and the food and the music and the ceremony, it was all perfectly thought through and delightful.


Sun setting in the west over the Olympic mountains

The rest of the trip was just hard work. And now, back in Pensacola, I have flights booked already for my next trip back. All part of life’s circle, I guess.

Through all this, we have met with kind, helpful people, who have made all the sorting out easier. Thanks be to God.

March 28, 2012 Posted by | Aging, Circle of Life and Death, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Financial Issues, Friends & Friendship, Health Issues, Interconnected, Seattle, sunrise series, Sunsets, Values, Weather | 3 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 460 other followers