Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

The Winner!

You’d think, now that we are ‘retired’ that we would have a lot of time, but we have plugged in to our community, and we are busy and scheduled! Before I left for Seattle, I was preparing for, and then helping with the Pensacola Quilt Show, held only every two years.

It was a lot of fun. Pensacola has amazing quilters, people who hand-piece and hand quilt, people who are amazingly skilled at machine quilting, and I am honored to know some of them, and delighted when I get a chance to work alongside them.

Whether or not I had won a ribbon, I would be honored just hanging my quilts in the same room with these talented women. Nevertheless, I did win an honorable mention in the theme quilt catagory, which was Snail’s Trail. I am only telling you this because I want to show you the ribbon, which is whimisical, clever and delightful:


I smile every time I look at it.

In addition, I won one of the offerings at the Chinese Auction. I have seen these auctions run different ways, but in this one, you get 25 chances for $5, and I put all my chances in the jar for these fabrics, I wanted them so badly. I took a class from the lady who made them, and I love the work she does. Winning this is like winning a pot of gold for a quilter :-)

When I look at these fabrics, I am ready to start quilting again!

March 28, 2012 - Posted by | Adventure, Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, color, Community, Events, ExPat Life, Friends & Friendship, Fund Raising, Local Lore

7 Comments »

  1. love the ribbon and the fabrics!

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  2. Enjoyed the sunshine–however brief it was. Love the ribbon–worth all the agonizing. Put my Paducah-bound quilts in FedEx today–it was like sending my kids off to summer camp for the first time.

    Comment by momcatwa | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  3. LOL, I am not sure I could do it, Momcat! But what an honor! Quilts showing at Paducah! Wooo HOOOO on YOU!

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 28, 2012 | Reply

  4. Mabrook , I am of you that you won an honorable mention for your quilt, you deserve it. I love your quilt .Bravo

    Comment by Hayfa Almughni | March 29, 2012 | Reply

  5. Hayfa, I know you have your own quilt show coming up in Kuwait! Will you have quilts to enter? I was thinking of you when I won the hand dyes, and all the fun we had when we took the class in Kuwait :-) and the beautiful fabrics that came from the class :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 29, 2012 | Reply

  6. Ah! You quilt as well…wonderful! Working on one now that tenure is done!!! Hoping to score some interesting cotton in Turkey soon. :)

    Comment by slowlybyslowlykaragoz | March 31, 2012 | Reply

  7. I do! Oooohhh, Turkish Textiles! Hmmmm . . . . friends have brought me some very nice cottons, but other friends have shown me some older textiles – silk embroideries, etc – that, although stained or shredding, could be rescued and fussy cut and pieced in a beautiful quilt. The older textiles are drop-dead gorgeous. . . maybe hubby’s family has some old clothes, or grandma’s clothes, they might be willing to share . . . ? It’s a real treasure hunt, being a quilter, but Turkey is a textile person’s paradise :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | March 31, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 443 other followers

