Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Hardest Day of the Year

Today is beautiful, after endless days of clouds and rain, clear, sunny, not quite so hot, yes, the pollen is flying about, but all in all, not such a bad day.

And yet, the hardest day of the year, the church year.

Our Gospel reading for today, from The Lectionary:

John 13:36-38

36 Simon Peter said to him, ‘Lord, where are you going?’ Jesus answered, ‘Where I am going, you cannot follow me now; but you will follow afterwards.’ 37Peter said to him, ‘Lord, why can I not follow you now? I will lay down my life for you.’ 38Jesus answered, ‘Will you lay down your life for me? Very truly, I tell you, before the cock crows, you will have denied me three times.

In my walk as a Christian, I am struck at how often his disciples, those who walked with Jesus, lived with Jesus, believed in Jesus and served Jesus with all their hearts – how often they misunderstood Jesus. He often had to correct their idea of what he was trying to tell them about life, about the kingdom of heaven. Peter, one of his earliest disciples, one who loves Jesus utterly, is about to deny his Lord and Master three times.

On Good Friday, we are all Peter.

April 6, 2012 Posted by | Circle of Life and Death, Easter, Friends & Friendship, Lectionary Readings, Spiritual | 2 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 472 other followers