Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

A Sucker Born Every Minute . . . Best Buy $1000 Win

While I was on vacation, I got a message on my iPhone from Best Buy telling me I had won their monthly drawing for $1000. Since I had made a purchase from Best Buy and filled out a survey, it was possible.

So, first thing on getting home, AdventureMan and I hit BestBuy to find out if I was indeed a winner. I will confess, I believed I was. I wanted to give the $1000 to AdventureMan to buy a new laptop.

“Oh! You got the message that you had won a thousand dollars?” the Customer Service representative laughed! “It’s a SCAM! If you go to the website, it looks like Best Buy, but it’s not. They ask you to enter all kinds of information so they can send you your gift card, but they use that information to establish a credit card for someone who is not you!”

I am glad I did not go to that website. I wish I had won a thousand dollars. :-(

It was also a good lesson. I really wanted to believe I was a winner, and that disposed me to believe that the message was true. It was only that inner cynic, deep within, that warned me to check it out with Best Buy first.

May 4, 2012 - Posted by | Adventure, Customer Service, ExPat Life, iPhone, Lies, Scams, Shopping

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

