Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Sisters Working Together

We have a mission, and that I why I am in Seattle. My sisters and I have to clean out my Mother’s condo, now that she has moved to a very elegant new living situation, with a lot of people her own age to play with. Mom has talked about this for years, but always with concern that when it came to dividing things up among the sisters there may be some greed, or that we might come to blows over the division of the possessions she is not taking with her. She came up with a system, whereas we put everything out and then take turns choosing.

The truth was a little more chaotic – but a lot more fun. Most of the time, we wanted different things. Even when two people wanted the same thing, they found cordial ways to negotiate a solution. It was a day of hard work (more similar days to come . . . ) but a very good day for the three sisters. We found some ‘missing’ items, tucked away in obscure places, some treasures. It was a good day.

I’ve always known what I wanted – it is a piece of my Alaskan heritage:

20120511-075615.jpg

As long as I can remember, this Eskimo mask has hung in our house. Now that it will hang in my house, I need to learn more about it. It has a spear, and fish, and feathers, and some things I don’t recognize. I’ll need to do some research.

May 11, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Anonymous?

    Comment by Fahad | May 13, 2012 | Reply

  2. Hi Fahad, not so much.

    Comment by intlxpatr | May 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 472 other followers

