Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Rainin Ribs on Lake City Way in Seattle

My best friend from University flew in from Hawaii the day before I was leaving Seattle, so we grabbed time for a visit and early dinner.

“What are you interested in?” she asked.

“Good Chinese or BBQ” I answered.

“I know just the place, close to home!” she crowed.

00RaininRibsSign

When we get there, I recognize the place, it used to be Alligator Ribs, or something like that, and it was also VERY good. My Mom and I had eaten there, and it was really, really good. This is looking pretty good, too – there is a long line of customers, both eating in and taking out. You order at the counter, then either wait (taking out) or go sit down until they bring you your dinner in a picnic table kind of area.

00RaininRibsPlaceOrder

My friend ordered the dry ribs and green beans. Both were out-of-this-world:

00RaininRibsRibsGreenBeans

I am not supposed to eat ribs, but I did eat one of hers, and they were awesome. Not fatty. Very smokey and very tender. Oh, YUmmmmmmmmmm.

I had the Danza sandwich, tri-tips, and it was also very good, with sweet potato fries. No matter how good they were, I did not eat them all. I did eat a few :-)

00RaininRibsDanzaSandwich

Very yummy. Very. And still, the ribs were awesome . . .

They have several sauces, including VooDoo Sauce, which they don’t offer in a squeeze bottle, you tell the waitress you want some and she brings you a little bowl of it. It is good, and it does not blow your brains out.

00RaininRibsVoodooSauce

The best bets in our humble opinion – The ribs. The sandwich was good, but the ribs are to die for. The green beans are superlative. The sweet potato fries are superlative. I’d love to try their Brunswick Stew. I dream of the BBQ at Rainin Ribs, it is that good. Who knew they did BBQ this good in Seattle??

December 5, 2012 - Posted by | Adventure, Cultural, Eating Out, Food, Friends & Friendship, Living Conditions, Seattle

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 462 other followers

